What are Alaska Labor Laws?
The minimum wage rate in Alaska as of February 2019 is $9.89. When it comes to overtime, the labor laws in Alaska cite employers having four or more employees should pay employees at an overtime rate coming to one and half times their regular rate. This is applicable if they work more than 40 hours per workweek or eight hours on a workday. There are a few exceptions to this rule. The employer must comply with FLSA and other relevant federal overtime laws. The federal law can be applied to cases where employees are more benefited compared to state law. The latter is applicable in all other cases.
Alaska Labor Laws Breaks and Vacations
Alaska labor laws breaks require employers to provide employees with a minimum of 30-minute breaks to 14-17 if they work five (5) or more consecutive hours. Alaska labor law breaks must occur before the beginning of the last hour of work or at the first hour and a half of work, according to Alaska Statute 23-10-350.
According to Alaska labor laws breaks requirements, employers in the state do not have to provide breaks for employers who are over the age of 18. If an employer chooses to provide employers with breaks, he is required to pay for them (if they are 20 minutes or under), according to Alaska labor law breaks requirements. If the breaks are over 20 minutes (meal breaks), Alaska employers are not required to pay for them.
So, Employers are under no obligation to offer breaks to any employee aged 18 years and over. If the employer wants to offer a break, it must pay the employees for the time needed to do the break on the condition it is a maximum of 20 minutes or less.
Employers in Alaska are not under any compulsion to offer employees any vacation benefits, which could be paid or unpaid. In case such benefits are to be offered by the employer, it should comply with established policy terms or the signed employment contract. The employer in Alaska must pay its employee for the accrued valuation leave when the individual separates from employment, and the contract mentions such a payment. The legislature of the state remains non-committal when it comes to any kind of obligation the employer could have regarding payment of the accrued valuation leave at the time of separation if the contract or policy does not clearly say so.
The leave laws in Alaska do not compel employers to offer employees with any sick leave benefits, both unpaid or paid. In case the employer decided to offer sick leave benefits, it should comply with the employment contract or established policy terms. The Alaskan employer could be needed to offer an employee unpaid sick leaves as stated in the FLSA.
Holiday leave and jury duty in Alaska
Leave laws in Alaska does not need private employers to offer employees with either unpaid or paid kind of holiday leave. An employee of a private employer could be asked to work on holidays. There is no need for the private employer to pay an employee premium pay like one and half times regular rate if they work on holidays. Exceptions can be made if the employee concerned qualifies for overtime as per standard overtime laws. In case the employer elects to offer either unpaid or paid holiday leave, then it should comply with terms of the employment contract or established policy.
The Alaskan leave laws do not need employers to pay any employee wages for any time spent on jury summons or doing jury duty. The employer must not discharge, penalize, threaten, or coerce any employee for doing jury duty or complying jury summons. When it comes to voting leave, the laws in Alaska state need employers to offer employees time off with complete payment. The exception is cases where there is a gap of two hours between the scheduled shift of the employee and the start of polls or two hours between polls' closing and the beginning of the employee's shift.