Crime of Passion Law Maine
Criminal homicides in Maine are classified into three distinct criminal offenses. These are as follows:
- Felony murder
The article explains the Manslaughter Law of Maine, which is basically a crime of passion. There are some states in the United States of America that categorize the offense of manslaughter into two different crimes – involuntary manslaughter and voluntary manslaughter. The State of Maine, on the other hand, has a single manslaughter statute, which criminalizes various types of manslaughter. Check out what is a Crime of Passion Law in Maine.
What Does Crime of Passion Mean?
The Crime of Passion Law Maine considers manslaughter as an extremely severe criminal offense. The crime involves a person killing another person. According to the Crime of Passion Law in Maine, a person is considered guilty of committing manslaughter when they take the life of another person through reckless behavior. The state considers it a Class A criminal offense qualifying it as a Felony.
Contrary to other states in the United States, the manslaughter statute of Maine does not categorize the manslaughter as voluntary or involuntary manslaughter. Rather a single manslaughter statute covers different manslaughter offenses.
What Does the Law Prohibit?
According to Maine’s crime of passion law, a person will be held responsible for committing manslaughter when the person:
- It causes another human being’s death through criminal negligence or reckless behavior.
- Knowingly or intentionally causes another person’s death while being under circumstances, which do not qualify the killing as murder because the offender killed the victim while under the effect of extreme fear or extreme fury because of sufficient provocation, or
- The person has personal and direct management control of a place of employment, any employment or employees. Such a person purposely violates any kind of health or safety standard while such violation leads to an employee’s death. Also, such a death is considered to be a reasonably foreseeable outcome of the violation.
Punishments in Maine
In Maine, manslaughter can be regarded as a Class C or a Class A criminal offense.
- Class C Crime: The offender when convicted can be penalized by a maximum fine of 5,000 USD and a maximum prison term of 5 years.
- Class A Crime: The guilty are punished by a maximum prison term of 30 years and/or a maximum fine of 50,000 USD.
How Are Manslaughter and Murder Different in Maine?
The major distinction between manslaughter and murder in Maine is the availability or absence of an element of malice in the killing. Typically, malice is described as the intention to cause severe physical injury or to kill. In a majority of states in America, it is a crucial element in murder.
To put it simply, murder is to kill someone else with malice. On the other hand, manslaughter is the illegal killing of someone else without malice. There are some circumstances though when a killing although done with malice and, which would usually be regarded as murder may be lowered to the less severe crime of manslaughter because of mitigating circumstances.
How Murder Is Mitigated to Manslaughter in Maine?
In Maine, any intentional killing when committed in the sudden heat of passion may be lowered from the crime of manslaughter to manslaughter from time to time. In case the offender committed the killing being under emotions such as extreme fear or extreme fury because of sufficient provocation, the murder charge brought on the offender can be mitigated to manslaughter. If a husband, for instance, returns to his house and discovers his wife having sex with another person and kill the lover of his wife and/or wife while under immense emotional disturbance such as extreme shock or fury, the act of killing can qualify as manslaughter in Maine.
Search Maine Arrest Records with GoLookUp!