Delaware Gun Laws: What are Gun Laws in the state of Delaware?
The article explains the laws in the state of Delaware to regulate the sale and possession of guns and its use.
Gun permits in Delaware
The state is a ‘may issue’ state for concealed carrying of guns. A state permit is not required to purchase guns or carry them openly. Registration of firearms is also not required. However, a permit is needed to carry the gun in a concealed manner.
The application for the gun permit must have references from five residents. Further, ten days before filing an application, a newspaper advertisement needs to be placed. This must be in a paper that has a circulation of minimum 35%. The state Attorney General’s Office and the court would review the application before granting the permit.
A gun permit issued in Delaware is honored by 28 states in the USA. Permits are issued only for residents of the state. The validity of the permit is for three years. It can be renewed for five year periods thereon.
Guns can be carried in a concealed manner with permit only. It can be carried in a vehicle and all areas except the following:
- Police stations
- School buses
- Wildlife areas, and
- Any other place that has restrictions by local or Federal laws
Eligibility for a gun permit in Delaware
To be eligible for a gun permit, one must be 18 years of age or more. The applicant must be a resident of the state and must complete a course in firearms training. Five references are needed from those who stay in the same county as you do. The applicant should not have been convicted of a felony or crime in Delaware or any other place. Those under 25 should not have been named as a delinquent.
Applicants should not have been convicted for use, sales or possession of narcotics and related drugs. They should not have been committed for any mental disorder.
Procedure for conceal carry permit in Delaware
To receive a gun permit, you need to do the following:
- Put an ad in a newspaper ten days before you apply. An affidavit from the newspaper needs to be obtained.
- Fingerprints have to be given within 45 days of submitting the application.
- Five references have to be submitted.
- The application has to be notarized and submitted with two photographs.
- The fee of $65 has to be paid by cash, money order or check.
- Two sets of applications have to be filed in the Prothonotary
- If the application is approved, then a gun training course needs to be passed and a notarized certificate enclosed.
Sale of guns in Delaware
Delaware is ranked the 5th easiest state to buy firearms. No permit is needed to buy guns. Anyone above 21 years of age can buy a gun for handguns. For long barrel guns, you need to above 18. 5.6 out of 1000 people in the state possess a gun. There are 1000+ dealers who sell guns in the state.
However, a background check is compulsory when you buy guns. It would cost around $52 to get a background check done before you buy a gun. Purchase of antique guns is exempt from this requirement.
Carrying guns in Delaware
It is allowed to carry guns in state parks and National forests as per the ruling of the Delaware Supreme Court.
You can carry guns to a restaurant serving alcohol. It is even allowed to carry guns in a place where there are no-weapon signs.
Also, if you are approached by police or any other enforcement officer, you are not required by law to inform them that you have a firearm.