Hawaii Gun Law: What are Gun Laws in the State of Hawaii
The gun laws in Hawaii are used to regulate the possession, sale, and use of firearms and ammunition in the state of Hawaii. The laws here are among the most restrictive in the country. It operates on the county level, and Hawaii uses a “May Issue” policy towards issuing concealed carry permits. That is only in the exceptional case where an applicant shows that he or she has reason to fear injury to their person or property. However, permits are issued to the public on a few rare occasions.
It was mandatory for the county to report any license issued since 2000. In the past 19 years there have only been four permits issued two in Maui in 2001, and another two in Kauai one to the local judge in 2006 and the other in 2013 which was issued to an active member of the military member. The population in Hawaii is 1.4 million. However, there are no active Handgun Carry Licenses that are granted to private citizens in Hawaii.
Acquiring a firearm in Hawaii
Acquiring a firearm in Hawaii requires you to have a permit that is issued to the qualified applicant only by the police chief in the county. The waiting period for receiving a permit is 14 to 20 days. You would need a separate permit for every handgun which is valid for 10 days. There is also a long gun permit that can be used for different shotguns and rifles throughout a year.
To get a permit, you need to pass a criminal background check. The applicant would have to provide an affidavit of sound mental health and agree to release all medical records if the applicant is applying for the first time they also need to be fingerprinted by the FBI. You would also need to undergo a handgun safety training course affidavit or hunters education card to acquire a handgun.
On acquiring the firearm, you are required to register it with the chief of police within the next five days. Guns that are bought from another state or others that were owned previously need to be registered within three days of its arrival. There is no waiting period for registering a weapon bought from out of state, but you would need to get your fingerprints taken by the FBI and undergo a thorough background check.
Carrying a firearm in Hawaii
If you carry a firearm, whether concealed or not, including within a vehicle, is considered to be a class B felony. An unloaded firearm that is secured in a gun case and accompanied with the corresponding permits can be transported in a vehicle between the home of the permit holder and a business which can be a place of repair, a license dealers place of business, an organisation, a target range, a scheduled firearm exhibit or show, or a place for firearm training or instruction or a formal hunting location, or a police station.
Fully automatic firearms or shotguns that are less than 18 inches long and rifles that have barrels shorter than 16 inches are prohibited by laws in the state. Other gun accessories such as handgun magazines can hold more than ten rounds of ammunition and semi-automatic handguns that have a combination of features that define it as an assault pistol according to the state.
Any non-residents are allowed to transport a firearm to the state, but it requires the holder to register it at a police station within 72 hours of its arrival. A permit will be provided for each firearm according to its make, model, and serial number.