The gun laws in the state of Kansas are considered to be very lenient. The state operates with an “Unrestricted” and “shall issue” policy. Any resident of Kansas is allowed to legally possess a firearm as long as they are 21 years old or older. Although the Second Amendment right to bear arms is important, it is also controversial. Many gun rights advocates applaud Kansa for the many laws it has implemented in the past several years, from the Personal and Family Protection Act in 2006, that permits residents to apply for concealed carry licenses to allowing school districts to decide if employees can carry concealed weapons.
Open carry in Kansas
Residents are legally not entitled to open carry in the state of Kansas, and you can open carry a handgun even if you don't have a permit to carry a concealed firearm.
Carrying in vehicles
Kansas doesn’t have gun laws that restrict carrying weapons in a car. Anyone can carry a loaded handgun in their cars with a permit in the state of Kansas. A concealed handgun doesn't need to be hidden and not displayed in an unlocked glovebox or console. Residents don't need a permit to carry their concealed weapons in their vehicle. The minimum age to possess and transport an unloaded handgun without a license is 18 years old. However, local governments have the right to set their own laws on public places which include vehicles.
Notifying a police officer
The gun laws in Kansas state that you are not required to inform a law enforcement officer of the firearm you are carrying when you are approached while on official business. You need to carry your permit in case you have a concealed handgun in your possession when an officer requests you to produce it.
Constitutional carry in Kansas
The Kansas gun laws don’t permit constitutional carry.
Carry in restaurants
In Kansas, residents are allowed to carry firearms into a restaurant whose primary business is to serve alcohol. Restaurants, in general, will enable you to bring firearms into restaurants as long as it's not at the bar area and also if the restaurant does not have a “no weapons” sign.
Enforcing the “no guns” sign in Kansas
These signs are not legally imposed under the gun laws in Kansas, and if anyone disregards this sign when they enter private property or business, they are not subjected to legal penalties. It is advisable to avoid entering properties or establishments that display this sign and are considered off limit by the law. If a person refuses to leave the premises while carrying in such venues, that person is breaking the law and is at risk of being charged.
Possessing Machine Guns in Kansas
It is against the law for any resident to intentionally or knowingly manufacture, transport, maintain, sell or repair a machine gun.
Unlawful removal of the serial number on the weapon
It is against the law to intentionally change, alter, remove or obliterate the serial number or identification number on any handgun. The possession of a gun with its marks altered, removed or destroyed creates a legal presumption that the possessor committed the offense.
It is prohibited to carry into court proceedings
It is against the law to carry a firearm into a judicial process in Kansas.
Carry while intoxicated is prohibited
It is against the law for a person to possess a handgun while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance regardless of whether he or she has a lawful permit to carry the handgun. An addict or habitual drunkard is prohibited from possessing any firearm.