Louisiana gun laws - what are Gun laws in the state of Louisiana?
The state of Louisiana has a ‘Shall issue” policy with regards to its gun laws. Gun control laws in Louisiana are one of the least restrictive in the United States. Only residents of Louisiana are allowed concealed carry permits, and non-resident permits are not available. Applicants should be at least 21 years old or older and should have completed a firearms training course.
Here are the gun laws in Louisiana:
1. Notifying an officer
The gun laws in Louisiana states that you are required to inform a law enforcement officer when you are carrying your firearm while you are checked or approached on official business. If you have a concealed handgun, you need to carry your permit around with you at all times.
2. Is the “no weapons” sign enforced?
Yes, these signs are enforced under the gun laws in Louisiana, and if anyone disregards this sign when they enter private property or business, they are subjected to penalties. It is advisable to avoid entering properties or establishments that display this sign.
3. Carrying in vehicles
The gun laws in Louisiana permits carry in vehicles and does not restrict its residents from carrying their firearms in their vehicles. Lawfully possessed firearms can be transported or stored in a locked, privately owned motor vehicle in any parking lot, parking garage, or other designated parking area.
4. Open carry in Louisiana
It is legal to open carry in the state of Louisianna without a license as long as the resident is above 18 years old and fits the federal law requirements. There are no restrictions to carrying your firearm and carrying it around the state; you will not be subjected to be answerable to any local authority.
Residents are prohibited from carrying firearms into an establishment whose primary business is to serve alcohol. Restaurants, in general, allow you to carry firearms as long as it's not at the bar area and also if the restaurant does not have a “no weapons” sign.
6. Removing the serial number of the firearm
It is unlawful to remove, deface, cover, alter or destroy the manufacturer’s serial number or other marks of identification on any firearm.
Gun license reciprocity in Louisiana
Louisiana honors valid firearm permits from other states if the individual is not a Louisiana resident and is a state with licenses that are recognized by Louisiana. Temporary permits are issued per a protective order are not valid in other states.
Requirements for residents to purchase concealed handguns
- The resident must be at least 21 years old
- The Resident has completed a firearm training course
- Not be a convict in the past of a misdemeanor in this or any other state relating to a controlled dangerous substance within the last five years.
- The resident must not have been convicted of a crime of violence over the previous five years.
- The resident must not have been convicted of a crime of violence or any crime punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or more
Areas that are off-limits for concealed weapons in Louisiana:
The state does not authorize any person to carry a concealed firearm into:
- Any police station or the sheriff's office
- Any criminal detention facility, prison, or jail
- Any venue that hosts the meeting of the governing body of a county, municipality, or special district
- Any educational institution like an elementary or secondary school facility without the consent of school authorities as provided, any child-caring facility, any day-care center, or any certified family child-care home.
- Secure areas of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property
- Any place where carrying firearms is prohibited by the federal law.