Maine Gun Laws - What are the gun laws in the state of Maine?The gun laws in the state of Maine are not too imposing and are a bit more lenient. Maine gun laws operate with an “Unrestricted” and “Shall Issue” policy. The latter being needed for reciprocity with other states. There is no permit/license required to conceal or open carry a firearm if the resident is 21 years or older and meets all the criteria that are set out by the law. Permits are available for residents who are traveling out-of-state and non-residents. The Department of Public safety handles applications through the Maine State Police department.
1. Notifying an officer
Under Maine gun laws if you are carrying firearms without a concealed permit, you must inform law enforcement immediately, if you have a concealed firearm. If you are carrying when you have a permit/license that Maine honors then you do not need to inform law enforcement officer when you are carrying a gun. You are required to present your permit/license and ID when you are asked to do so.
2. No weapons sign is enforced
The “No Weapons” signs are mentioned in the Maine gun laws. There are legal penalties for entering private property or business that have posted these signs. You will be breaking the law if you enter these establishments that have the signs.
3. Carry in vehicles
If you do not have a license, you are still allowed to carry a loaded firearm inside any car. Taking a gun in a vehicle, if you are 18-21 years old and you can legally own a firearm is legal.
3. Open Carry law in Maine
The state allows open carry without a permit/license, and there are no laws that prevent a permit/license holder carrying a concealed firearm openly.
4. Carrying firearms in restaurants
In Maine, residents are prohibited from carrying firearms into an establishment whose primary business is to serve alcohol. Restaurants, in general, allow you to carry firearms as long as it's not at the bar area and also if the restaurant does not have a “no weapons” sign.
5. State park carry law
The residents of Maine are allowed to carry in state forests, Wildlife management areas, and roadside rest areas. However, state State parks are off-limits.
6. Employer prohibition
The employer or an agent of an employer is not permitted to prohibit an employee who has a valid concealed carry license from carrying a firearm in the employee’s vehicle if the vehicle is locked and the firearm is out of sight. It also includes State employees whose vehicle is on state property or leased by the state.
Autoloading in Maine
It is against the law to hunt or possess for hunting any auto-loading firearm having a magazine capacity of more than five cartridges.
Miscellaneous gun provisions in Maine
- The State law prohibits cities and other localities from enacting laws that concern the regulation of firearms, supplies, components, and ammunition, that do not conform with state law. The municipality or any political subdivision of the state does not have the right to have any ordinance, law or rule regulating hunting, fishing, and trapping.
- It is against the law for any resident to transfer a handgun to a minor who is under 18 years of age.
Areas that prohibit carrying firearms in Maine
Firearms are prohibited from:
- Any law enforcement building, detention facility, prison, or jail;
- A courthouse or courtroom or place where justice is being served
- Restricted areas of an airport
- Labor disputes or strikes zones
- School zones and area within 500 feet of a school or school grounds).
- If you have to go to any of these areas, you need to leave your gun behind, either at home or locked in your car safely or hidden out of sight.