Free Background Check

Best Background Check Online. Start a Free Search Below!

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on December 1, 2021
Sensitive Information!

Mississippi Gun Purchase Laws

The State of Mississippi has very liberal gun laws with regards to the purchase, possession and carry of firearms.  It is a constitutional carry state, which means permits are not required, except when specified. The reason the State has relaxed gun laws is that of Article 3, Section 12 in Mississippi’s Constitution. The provision - mandates that it is a citizen’s right to protect himself, his property or to help in the civil action if required. It also stipulates that the legislature may prohibit or curtail specifically concealed carry.

Long guns in Mississippi

Long guns do not require a State permit, are not required to be registered nor do owners require a license.

Handguns in Mississippi

Long guns do not require a State permit, are not required to be registered nor do owners require a license.

License for concealed carry – Licenses for concealed carry are issued on a “Shall Issue” policy. If an applicant qualifies, he or she will receive the license within 45 days of the application. The term of the license is five years.

Mississippi Gun Law

Constitutional Concealed Carry - From 1st of July 2015, the concealed carry law was amended. Licenses for “loaded or unloaded pistols or revolvers which are carried in a purse, satchel, other similar bag or briefcase or fully enclosed case” are not required. Then again on 15th April 2016, the law was further amended to include “belt and shoulder holsters and sheaths.” This has paved the way for constitutional carry, except if the person is a Mexican or carrying in an ankle holster.

Prohibited Concealed Carry in in Mississippi

It must be noted that concealed carry, is prohibited in the following places:

Any public 1 to 12 school, government meeting place, polling place, police station or detention facility, any place where alcoholic beverages are being distributed, any courthouse. Concealed carry is also not permitted at any athletic event, demonstration or parade. Permits are mandatory here. Concealed carry is further not allowed at any place where a sign specifying, “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited” is visible from a distance of at least 10 feet, in airports or any “place of nuisance” as laid out in Mississippi Code section 95-3-1.

Enhanced concealed carry in Mississippi

These license holders are permitted to carry concealed at public universities and certain specific places. As per Mississippi Code section 97-37-7(2) prohibited places include, any police, sheriff or state highway patrol station, any detention facility, prison or jail, any place of nuisance, any place where federal law prohibits firearms and judicial hearings in courtrooms.

Mississippi Gun Laws
Latterly, the Supreme Court of Mississippi passed a ruling in June 2018, which stretched this license to include – concealed carry in and around courthouses. License holders are still prohibited from carrying firearms into a courtroom though. Only residents of the State can apply for this license.

License for open carry –A Circuit Court Judge in Jackson, Mississippi issued an injunction based on the fact that the concealed handgun definition was not explicit. The Supreme Court, however, on 29th August 2013, canceled the injunction. On July 1st, 2013, the “HB2” Unlicensed Open Carry Law came into force. Permits are not required for long or handguns.

License for carrying in a vehicle – Carrying firearms in a vehicle, is permissible, whether it is concealed or open carry. A license is not required.

Background checks for private sales – Background checks for short guns and long guns are not mandatory.

Age - The minimum age to be issued a license is 21, except if you are a current or former employee of law enforcement or the armed forces.

Assault weapons – Assault weapons of any kind, long or short guns, are not prohibited.

Mississippi Gun Background Check

Now that you know more about the Mississippi gun purchase laws, you can decide whether or not you want to purchase a gun in the state. Before you do so, you are advised to perform a Mississippi gun background check in yourself. Why? Because it can help you find out if there is anything in your records that can prevent you from purchasing a firearm in Mississippi. If you are not allowed to purchase a gun in Mississippi, you might be able to make the purchase in another state.

Also, you can perform a Mississippi gun background check to find out if there are any mistakes in your records. Sometimes, public records contain mistakes that can affect your ability to purchase a gun. To correct these mistakes, perform a background check on yourself. If you see that there are indeed mistakes in your records, you can request to delete/change them. For a quick and easy Mississippi gun background check, enter your full name into GoLookUp's search directory. Once you do, the search engine will provide you with a record about yourself, and you will be able to see if there is anything that can mage ineligible to purchase a gun in Mississippi.

Like this page? Share it :)

Related Articles You Might Like

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on December 1, 2021
Sensitive Information!