Nevada Domestic Abuse Laws and How to Get Help for Domestic Abuse
Domestic abuse laws in Nevada are clearly defined and intended to protect the people from domestic violence and abuse from their own spouses or any other person with whom they share a relationship. As with the other states in the U.S, Nevada also has a protective order system in place in order to immediately protect the victims that have suffered domestic abuse.
Domestic Abuse Laws in Nevada apply to:
- Former and current spouses
- Persons related by marriage or blood
- Persons that lived together in the past or living together at present
- Persons that were/are in a dating relationship
When is a Domestic Abuse said to occur?
If one or more of the following offenses is/are committed between persons belonging to a family or those in any kind of domestic relationship, domestic violence or abuse is said to have occurred:
- Forcing the victim to perform something against his/her wish
- Sexual assault
- Harassing the victim through reckless conduct that includes arson, stalking, larceny, trespass, carrying a weapon without a permit, damaging private property, causing injury
- False imprisonment
- Forcibly entering the victim’s residence with the intention of causing harm to the victim
- Killing or injuring an animal
Nevada Domestic Abuse Law: Penalties
- In case the defendant has no previous record (within the past seven years) of committing abuse or domestic violence, he/she will be considered guilty of a misdemeanor. Such conviction will carry a two-day jail term, community service for 48 hours along with a fine of $200. However, if the crime is serious, the defendant may need to serve a 6-month prison term along with a $1000 fine and 48 hours of social service.
- A second conviction within 7 years will carry a 10- day prison sentence, 100 hours of community service along with a fine of $500.
- For subsequent convictions within a 7-year period, the defendant will be charged with Class C felony that carries a sentence ranging between 1-5 years in jail along with a fine of $10,000.
Help for Domestic Abuse in Nevada
There are several non-profit domestic abuse shelters in Nevada that are working beyond their capacity to help the victims. Some of them offer hotlines and emergency shelters as well. Details of a few of them are mentioned below:
The Shade Tree
The Shade Tree offers emergency services, counseling services, financial and legal assistance services, children’s services and support services.
Nevada Domestic Abuse Statistics
- According to studies, Nevada women are more likely to be killed by their own intimate partners. Comparatively, women in this state are 65% more likely to be gunned down.
- More than 11 percent of children in this U.S state are exposed to domestic violence. This is confirmed by The National Survey of Children’s Exposure to Violence.
- In 2015, 43 lives were lost in Nevada due to domestic abuse and violence.
- Nevada tops the list when it comes to domestic abuse and violence fatalities.
- In 2014, domestic violence services in Nevada were contacted over 65,000 times.
- Nevada women are at a higher risk of being assaulted by their partners.
- In 1994, 11,160 cases of domestic violence were reported to law enforcement agencies. This rose to 26,162 in 2008. Several cases went unreported.
- 4% of women in Nevada experience stalking at least once in their lifetime.
- Nevada administration and law enforcement agencies encourage reporting of domestic abuse and violence. Victims should stop suffering in silence; domestic abusers should be shown their place.