Type of Felonies in Utah
In Utah, felonies are not determined according to the severity of the crime, but according to the time which they serve in prison. Thus, according to the sentences which are served, felonies in Utah are classified according to first, second, or third degree felonies.
In addition to this, there are also misdemeanors, which account for a year of prison time. Felonies are those punishments which carry a minimum sentence of 2 years, and a maximum sentence of life imprisonment the death penalty.
First Degree Felonies
First degree felonies in Utah are those crimes which constitute a minimum of 5 years in prison, and a maximum sentence of life imprisonment. In addition to this, a fine of $10000 is also imposed upon the convict.
The first-degree felony in Utah constitutes grave crimes like rape, first degree murder, kidnapping, other instances of sexual abuse, battery, and other crimes which have been conducted with a blatant disregard for human life.
Second Degree Felonies
A second degree felony constitutes of those kind of crimes by which the convict is subject to a punishment of a maximum of 15 years in prison, along with a fine of $10000, or both. These crimes are not those which take another person's life, but are those which grievously harm and possibly main the victim of the crime.
Examples of second-degree felonies include assault, either with or without a deadly weapon, attacking someone with an intent to physically harm them, arson, and other such crimes which cause serious damage to the life and property of another individual.
Third Degree Felonies
Third degree felonies are constituted as the least serious crimes in Utah, crimes which were either committed due to ignorance, willfulness, or a crime which was petty in nature. Just as other crimes, the punishments fits the deed, thus the punishment that the convict receives for petty crimes is simply a prison sentence of a maximum of 5 years, a fine of $5000, or both.
Examples of third-degree felonies include the following: petty theft, shoplifting, robbery of possessions of an amount under $5000, and theft of services- fraudulent behavior or scamming someone. Any robbery which has occurred, amounting to more than $1500 but less than $5000, is classified as a third-degree felony.
Statute of Limitations
Statute of limitations is defined as a period of time after which a case cannot be presented in court for a trial. With regards to first degree felonies, the statute of limitations does not exist, as these crimes can be reported at any time. Especially in sexual abuse-related cases, often, the victim takes years to gather the courage to report the crime. Or if the crime was committed on a minor, they can file a complaint after they become an adult.
The Statute of limitations begins to tick down from the time the complaint is registered by the police. However, if the defendant has to be out of state for any reason, the statute of limitations is put on pause for the time being.
Other Statute of Limitations
Incest and cases of "forcible sexual abuse" have to be reported within eight years of the crime. In addition to this, these crimes have to be reported within four years of the deed to a law enforcement agency. If these cases are not reported within four years, they are not able to go to trial.
- A case of negligent homicide has to be reported within four years of the crime.
- Cases of misusing public money and bribery have to be reported within two years.
- Infractions have to be reported within one year.