Utah Gun Law: What are Gun Laws in the State of Utah?
The gun laws in Utah are regarded permissive, but the state requires you to have a permit to carry a concealed firearm. A permit can be issued to residents as well as nonresidents if they are over 21 years of age and if they have completed a firearms training course and meet other required criteria. There is also a provisional permit that is available for persons between the ages of 18 to 21. A permit is processed at the state level and is done by the Bureau of Criminal Identification. At the same time, Utah allows open carrying of unloaded firearms without a permit.
Following are the requirements for a standard concealed carry weapons permit in Utah:
- The applicant should be over 21 years of age
- They must have proof of good character
- They have to have a completion certification for a firearms familiarity course that is certified by the BCI.
- They should never have been convicted of a felony.
- They should not be convicted of a crime of violence
- He or she should not be convicted of any offense that involves the use of alcohol.
- They should not be convicted of any offense that involves the unlawful use of narcotics or any other substance that is controlled.
- They should not be convicted of any offense that involves moral turpitude.
- They should not be convicted of offenses that involve domestic violence. He or she has not have been adjudicated by a court in the state or the united states as mentally incompetent unless that adjudication is reversed or withdrawn.
- The applicant should be qualified to possess and purchase a firearm.
The requirements for the provisional permit in Utah are slightly different;
Apart from the age that should be between 18 and 21 the conditions are similar to the ones mentioned above. These permits can also be issued to non-resident applicants however most states may not honor this permit as the countrywide legal age for carrying a concealed weapon is 21 years.
- The number of active concealed carry weapons in Utah are 698,920. The state also donors permits from 53 other states.
- This is how reciprocity works in Utah
- The state honors permit from all other states
- Thirty-six other states honor the standard CCW permit from Utah.
- However, there are six states that only donor a Utah residential permit
- Also, 19 states do not honor the Utah provisional permit.
Gun permits for non-residents in Utah
People that live in restrictive states such as California prefer to apply for Utah non-resident permits. This permit cannot be used in California, but it is a popular choice if the applicant wants to travel interstate regularly. This permit allows the holder to travel through thirty other states.
Gun training in Utah
One of the primary conditions for obtaining a CCW permit is that you take part in a firearms training course that is conducted by a Utah certified instructor. Besides, there is no need for a nonresidential applicant to travel to Utah as these courses are widely available in other states. Currently, there are 178 Utah Certified instructors in California itself.
Places in Utah where you are not allowed to carry a gun are
- Secure areas that do not allow firearms
- Correctional facilities
- Mental health facilities
- Churches or other houses of worship that have given a legal notice that firearms are prohibited such as the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and the congregation of Kol Ami
- Secure areas at the airport
- Any place in which the federal law prohibits the carrying of a firearm.
Places that allow guns in Utah
- State parks
- National and state forests
- Rest areas at the roadside