The gun laws in West Virginia are considered to be quite lenient compared to other states in the US. West Virginia is growing in numbers, regarding constitutional carry states with no requirement to have a license to carry a firearm provided the person carrying is at least 18 years old and is legally entitled to have a firearm under state and federal law. To legally conceal carry without a license the resident must be 21 years or older. If an 18 - 20-year-old wants to conceal carry a weapon, the state requires them to have a Provisional CHL license.
Open carry in West Virginia
Residents are legally not entitled to open carry in the state of West Virginia, and you can open carry a handgun even if you don't have a permit to carry a concealed firearm. Municipalities can enforce laws that can ban the open carry of firearms in recreation facilities owned by the municipality.
Carrying in vehicles
West Virginia doesn’t have gun laws that restrict carrying weapons in a car. Any resident can carry a loaded handgun in their cars with a permit in the state of West Virginia. A concealed handgun doesn't need to be hidden and not displayed in an unlocked glovebox or console. Residents don't need a permit to carry their concealed weapons in their vehicle. The minimum age to possess and transport an unloaded handgun without a license is 18 years old. However, local governments have the right to set their laws on public places which include vehicles.
Notifying a police officer
The gun laws in West Virginia state that you are not required to inform a law enforcement officer of the firearm you are carrying when you are approached while on official business. You need to carry your permit in case you have a concealed handgun in your possession when an officer requests you to produce it.
Constitutional carry in West Virginia
The West Virginia gun laws permit constitutional carry, and there is no CCW license required if the person is legally able to possess a firearm.
Carry in restaurants
In West Virginia, residents are allowed to carry firearms into a restaurant whose primary business is to serve alcohol. Restaurants, in general, will enable you to bring firearms into restaurants as long as it's not at the bar area and also if the restaurant does not have a “no weapons” sign.
Enforcing the “no guns” sign in West Virginia
These signs are not legally imposed under the gun laws in West Virginia, and if anyone disregards this sign when they enter private property or business, they are not subjected to legal penalties. It is advisable to avoid entering properties or establishments that display this sign and are considered off limit by the law. If a person refuses to leave the premises while carrying in such venues, that person is breaking the law and is at risk of being charged.
Possessing Machine Guns in West Virginia
In West Virginia, it is illegal for any resident to intentionally or knowingly manufacture, transport, maintain, sell or repair a machine gun.
Unlawful removal of the serial number on the weapon
It is against the law to intentionally change, alter, remove or obliterate the serial number or identification number on any handgun. The possession of a gun with its marks altered, removed or destroyed creates a legal presumption that the possessor committed the offense.
It is prohibited to display or sell firearms publicly
In West Virginia, it is against the law to publicly display firearms for sale or rent, in such a manner as a passerby on the streets may see them. It is against the law to sell or rent firearms to anyone who is prohibited from possessing them.