Wyoming Gun Laws: What are Gun Laws in the state of Wyoming?
The article explains the laws in the state of Wyoming to regulate the sale and possession of guns and its use. Wyoming operates on an unrestricted basis when it comes to gun laws; there are no restrictions of any sort.
Gun permits in Wyoming
The state is a ‘shall issue’ state for concealed carrying of guns only for reciprocity. A state permit is not required to purchase guns. Registration of firearms is also not required. Open carrying of guns is allowed in the state, and no license is required for open carry. A permit is not required to carry a gun in a concealed manner.
A gun permit issued in Wyoming is honored by 36 states in the USA. Permits are issued only for residents of the state. The validity of the permit is for 5 years.
Carrying Guns in Wyoming
Guns can be carried in a concealed manner without a permit, even though the state is a ‘shall issue’ state. Open carry of guns is allowed in the state for those more than 18 years of age. It can be carried in a vehicle and all areas except the following:
- Police stations
- Schools and colleges.
- Legislature meeting
- Any Government entity meeting
- In a place that serves alcohol
- A place of public worship
- Any other place that has restrictions by Federal laws
Eligibility for a gun permit in Wyoming
The gun permit for concealed carry issued in Wyoming is for reciprocity purpose for those who want to visit other states with a gun. Applicants must be 21 years of age. They must be a resident of the state for more than six months.
Other requirements include having familiarity with the use of a gun, not being physically incapable of carrying a gun or judged legally incompetent or has not committed to a mental institution.
Procedure for conceal carry permit
To receive a gun permit, you need to do the following:
- The applicant has to prove resident status by submitting identity proof or driving license copy.
- The application has to be submitted to the Sheriff of the county where the applicant resides. Four copies of the application are needed.
- The fee to be paid is $64, to be paid only by money order or check. Sheriff office may charge additional processing fees.
- Fingerprinting and photography are required.
- Once the application is approved, a mail would be sent to notify the applicant. It usually takes around 60 days to process the application and issue a permit.
Sale of guns in Wyoming
Guns can be sold to those over 18 years of age. There is no background check required nor any registration. Private sales are permitted. There is no waiting period for the purchase of guns.
Carrying guns in Wyoming
In the state of Wyoming, it is allowed to carry guns in the open. It is legal to carry a gun in a vehicle. Concealed carry of guns is also allowed in Wyoming without a permit.
In Wyoming, one normally cannot carry a gun into a place that serves alcohol. If you are allowed to carry the gun, consumption of alcohol is not allowed.
It is not required to inform a law enforcement officer that you are carrying a gun. However, you must carry permit or identification with you at all times and show it to the officer is demanded.
A ‘No weapons’ sign has the approval of the law, and no one is allowed to carry weapons in an area with such a sign.
Guns can be carried in state parks and forest areas.