Best Criminal Records Search Tool Online!

Criminal Records Search!

Search for Criminal Records, Arrest Records and Court Documents!

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 19, 2019
Sensitive Information!
Access Arrest Records & Criminal Records. Please Check Website Terms of Use!
Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What Is the Law on Assault in Alaska and What Are the Punishments for It?

Owing to the fact that each American state has unique characteristics and sovereignty in their own right, states are generally permitted to pass, apply, and implement their own jurisprudence apart from the Federal Laws.

Alaska, popularly known as the Last Frontier and the largest American state in terms of area, has a collection of respective laws and penalties for the crime of assaults. The State of Alaska distinguishes crime of assaults as Felony Assaults and Misdemeanor Assaults while both are serious in their own way.

Classification of Felony Assaults in Alaska

The State of Alaska sorts out Felony Assaults and Misdemeanor Assaults as

  • Assault in the first degree (Class A Felony)
  • Assault in the second degree (Class B Felony)
  • Assault in the third degree (Class C Felony)
  • Assault in the fourth degree (Class A Misdemeanor)

Assault in the First Degree (Class A Felony)

The most grievous crime of assault, assault in the first degree (Class A felony) is if a person

  • Intentionally and recklessly causing physical injury to another person by any dangerous means (even bare hands), objects or instruments (deadly weapons) that is capable of causing a life-threatening injury.
  • intentionally causing grievous injury to another exhibiting unconcern to the value of human life.
Abuse of Authority Laws Alaska

Punishments for Assault in the First Degree (Class A Felony)

A person convicted of First Degree Assault in Alaska can be subjected to any or all of the following punishments:

  • Incarceration: Imprisonment up to 20 years
  • Penalty: Fine up to $250,000
  • Probation
  • Community service
  • Restitution

Assault in the Second Degree (Class B Felony)

The crime of assault in the second degree (Class B felony) occurs if a person

  • Intentionally and recklessly cause serious injury to others by any dangerous means (even bare hands), objects or instruments (deadly weapons) that is capable of causing physical injury

Punishments for Assault in the Second Degree (Class B Felony)

A person convicted of second-degree assault in Alaska can be subjected to any or all of the following punishments:

  • Incarceration: Imprisonment up to 10 years
  • Penalty: Fine up to $100,000
  • Probation
  • Community service
  • Restitution
Alaska Assault Law

Assault in the Third Degree (Class C Felony)

The crime of assault in the third degree (Class C felony) occurs if a person

  • holds another person intentionally in dread of certain serious injury by dangerous instrument.
  • cause serious physical injury to others by dangerous means in a reckless manner.
  • being 18 years of age or older and causing serious injury to a kid who is below 12 years old and the harm leads the kid to take medical treatment.
  • being 18 years of age or older and causing serious injury to a kid who is below 12 years old on more than one instance.
  • intentionally hold another person in fear of imminent death or physical injury to the individual or someone from their family and issuing threats that are recurring in nature to cause death or injury to another person.
  • being 18 years of age or older, intentionally causing serious injury to a kid who is below 16 years at the same time at the least aged 12 and the physical hurt demands medical handling within reason.
  • cause grievous injury to others by a dangerous instrument with culpable negligence.

Punishments for Assault in the Third Degree (Class C Felony)

A person convicted of third-degree assault in Alaska can be subjected to any or all of the following punishments:

  • Incarceration: Imprisonment up to 5 years
  • Penalty: Fine up to $50,000
  • Probation
  • Community service
  • Restitution

Assault in the Fourth Degree (Class A Misdemeanor)

The crime of assault in the fourth degree (Class A misdemeanor) occurs if a person

  • cause physical injury to others in a reckless manner
  • cause grievous injury with culpable negligence to another person by dangerous instrument
  • holds other people in dread of physical injury by words or through other conduct in a reckless manner

Punishments for Assault in the Fourth Degree (Class A Misdemeanor)

A person convicted of fourth-degree (Class A misdemeanor) in Alaska can be subjected to any or all of the following punishments:

  • Incarceration: Imprisonment up to 1 year
  • Penalty: Fine up to $10,000
  • Probation
  • Community service
  • Restitution

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 19, 2019
Sensitive Information!