The Law on Kidnapping/Abduction in Connecticut and its Punishments
A defendant has carried out the crime of kidnapping or abduction if he or he knowingly or intentionally abducts another person. This condition often creates within the separated or divorced family circumstances as well. Most of the cases include the kidnapping of a child by one of the child’s parents who has not got custody of the child.
What are the Laws on kidnapping or abduction in Connecticut?
In the state, Connecticut, kidnapping or abduction is categorized into two types such as first-degree kidnapping and second-degree kidnapping. The information of Laws of kidnapping in Connecticut while a defendant is charged for kidnapping or abduction is very important.
Defenses to abduction or kidnapping charges are as follows:
- The defendant voluntarily freed the victim within a safe place. (NORE: This is considered a partial defense and can’t influence to reduce the charge and penalty by one degree.)
- Lack of knowledge;
- Feeling disturbance;
- The defendant has a relation to the victim.
- The intent of the defendant was to achieve the power to control the victim lawfully.
In Connecticut, charges of first degree in terms of Class A felony are as follows:
- When a defendant abducts an individual for payment.
- When a defendant abducts an individual for the motive of sexually abusing or administering physical injury.
- When a defendant abducts an individual in the commission of a felony.
- When a defendant abducts an individual for the motive of terrorizing the individual or a third party.
- When the defendant abducts an individual to get involved in a government function.
- When the defendant uses a firearm in the commission of an abduction or kidnapping.
In Connecticut, charges of second degree in term of Class B felony are as follows:
- When the defendant abducts another person.
- When the defendant uses a firearm in the commission of abduction or kidnapping.
Custodial interference Laws are related to custodial interference within the first degree in terms of a Class A misdemeanor. The charges of this type of Laws are as follows.
- When the member of a child’s family plans to hold permanently the child who is at the age of below 16 years, knowing that he or she has no right to the child legally and taking the child for the legal custodian
- A party denies returning a child, who is at the age of below 16 years, to the legal custodian, ignoring a request for returning the child
Custodial interference Laws are related to custodial interference within the second degree in terms of a Class a Misdemeanor. The charges of this type of Laws are as follows.
- An individual performs custodial interference within second degree and reveals the child to a risk of danger.
- An individual performs custodial interference within the second degree and eliminates the child from the state.
Punishment for Abduction in Connecticut
The penalties imposed according to the various degrees of kidnapping are as follows.
- When a person is charged with first-degree kidnapping, a certain sentence will be imposed on him or her by the court. In that sentence, one year cannot be reduced or suspended by the court.
- When a charge of second-degree kidnapping is imposed on an individual, three years of the declared sentence cannot be reduced or suspended by the court.
- A type of Class A felony other than sexual assault and murder of a child with the age of below 16 is punishable and the convicted person will be punished with imprisonment for minimum ten years or more than 25 years.
- A type of Class B felony other than manslaughter within first degree including a firearm is punishable for minimum one year or more than 20 years.
If an individual is convicted for kidnapping or abduction crime, he or she can get the assistance of the Connecticut Department of Public Safety for the prosecution and prevention of kidnapping or abduction crime.