What Is the Law on Assault on Connecticut and What Are the Punishments for It?
Assault is a serious crime where one or more people inflict bodily injury, either serious or otherwise, on to another person. Assault can often result in the victim having to undergo grievous bodily harm and may or may not result in death. Crimes related to assault are considered to be extremely serious in Connecticut, and anyone found guilty of it can face incarceration, penalties in the form of fines, or both.
What Is Considered as an Assault in the State of Connecticut?
The State of Connecticut has established various categories and classifications in the state. Depending on the intent of the person, who they attacked, what kind of injury was inflicted, and whether such a person was grievously injured or not.
The Various Classifications within the State Include:
- First Degree Assault: It is considered first degree assault when the accused attacks their victim with a deadly weapon; when the attacker deliberately intends to disfigure, amputate, destroy or damage their victim's body; when the accused engages in behavior akin to reckless endangerment that could result in serious injury; when the accused deliberately intended to harm the victim while enlisting the help of one or more people; when the accused used a firearm or a dangerous weapon while assaulting the victim.
- Assault in the Second Degree: It is considered an assault in the second degree when the accused inflicts serious bodily injury upon the person they attacked; when they intended to and deliberately used a dangerous weapon other than a firearm to inflict harm upon their victim; when the accused intended to cause reckless injury by using a weapon capable of inflicting pain; when the accused deliberately used drugs or other controlled substances against the victim without their consent.
- Assault in the Second Degree Using a Motor Vehicle: This happens anytime a person commits assault using a motor vehicle, including when they were inebriated or under the influence of illegal substances.
- Assault in the Third Degree: It is considered assault in the third degree whenever a person intentionally delivers physical injury on the victim; when the accused engages in reckless behavior that delivers physical injury upon the victim; when the accused engages in behavior akin to criminal negligence where they use a weapon that could cause deadly physical injury.
What Are the Punishments for Assault in the State of Connecticut?
The Punishments for Assault in Connecticut are dependent on the category of crime committed by the accused. The various Punishments for Assault in Connecticut include:
- Assault in the First Degree: This is considered a Class B Felony. The punishment for this is the time to be spent in incarceration that is not less than five years and not greater than twenty years. Such a person may also be charged a fine that does not amount to more than $15,000. They may also be charged with both.
- Assault in the Second Degree: This is considered a Class D Felony. The punishment for this is either time to be spent in prison that is not less than one year and not greater than five years. The accused may also have to pay a fine that does not amount to more than $5000, or both.
- Assault in the Third Degree: This is considered a Class A Misdemeanor. The punishment for this is a year in jail, payment of fines that do not exceed $2000, or both.
When such an assault happens to a pregnant woman, a blind person, an officer in prison or a Department of Corrections officer, then the accused will be asked to serve at least one year more than what they would otherwise have to serve.