What is the Law on Burglary in Connecticut and What are the Punishments for it?
Under Connecticut laws, burglary crime involves entering a residence or a building with a motive of committing a crime. A residence or a dwelling is a place where people reside at night. On the other hand, ‘a building’ is a used as a broad term to include structures, vehicles, aircraft, sleeping car, watercraft and trailer among others which possess a legal occupancy certificate.
Burglary in Connecticut is a punishable offense and is categorized into five sections depending on the conduct of the defendant.
A first-degree punishment is accorded to the defendant when:
- A person enters and stays in a building or residence without permission with an intent to commit a crime. If he possesses deadly and dangerous instruments or explosives.
- After entering and staying in the building or residence and knowing, intentionally or recklessly harms the inmates.
- A person illegally enters and stays in a building or residence with the intent of committing a crime.
The first-degree burglary is considered a Class B felony. And if the person is armed at the time of committing the crime, he has to serve a minimum 5-year sentence.
In the second-degree burglary, a person enters a dwelling at night to commit a crime or enters a dwelling when it is occupied. There is also a second-degree category with a firearm, wherein the person commits a second-degree burglary by using a pistol, rifle, revolver, shotgun, machine gun or any other firearm.
The person committing the crime might use these firearms, display them and threaten, representing or conducting a way that represents that the person is armed with a firearm.
The second-degree burglary is considered a Class C felony. Punishments of a second-degree burglary with a firearm are more severe even though it is considered as a Class C felony.
A third-degree burglary involves a person committing a crime by entering a dwelling and continuing to remain in the dwelling with the permission of the inmates (illegally) with the intention of committing a crime there. The third-degree burglary is a Class D felony in the Connecticut laws.
The third-degree burglary with a firearm section involves a person committing a third-degree burglary and is using, is armed and is threatening with the use of, displaying or conducting that he possesses, or representing with words that he possesses a pistol, rifle, revolver, shotgun, machine gun or any other firearm with an intent to commit a crime. This again constitutes a Class D felony.
Punishments for burglary in Connecticut
The punishments for each classification of burglary crime committed in Connecticut are explained in the following paragraph.
An execution or life imprisonment is issued for a capital felony. A person committing a Class A felony with a crime involving murder is sentenced for a jail term from a minimum of 25 years up to a maximum of 60 years, a fine of up to $20,000, or both. Crime involving Class A felony alone sentences a person for a minimum of 10 years up to 25 years, fine of $20,000, or both.
A person found guilty of committing a Class B felony is sentenced from 1-20 years, or a fine of $15,000, or both. Punishment for a Class C felony involves sentence term of 1-10 years, fine of $10,000, or both. And, Class D felony punishment involves a sentence for a minimum 1 year up to 5 years, fine of $2,000, or both.
A person found guilty of simple trespassing may be punished with a fine and may not be granted a jail sentence. However, criminal trespass is a serious crime, and the person may be sentenced up to 12 months in jail and a fine up to $2,000 is collected.