What is the Law on Burglary in Minnesota and What are the Punishments for It?
A burglary is an act of home invasion, where a burglar breaks and enters into a home to commit a crime. It could be a theft or any other crime. Burglary laws vary from state to state in the USA. The law on burglary in the state of Minnesota is presented in this article.
Burglary in Minnesota
In the state of Minnesota, the Minnesota Statutes 609.582 deals with burglary. In the state of Minnesota, the law of burglary has been graded in four levels of degrees. Burglary is dealt with as burglary of the first, second, third, and fourth degree.
Burglary of the first degree is when a person enters a building without consent and with the intention of committing a crime or enters a building without consent and commits a crime while in the building, directly or as an accomplice. This would be applicable if the building is a dwelling and someone is present in it at the time of the crime.
It would also be considered a first-degree offense when the burglar has a dangerous weapon or makes the victim believes it is a dangerous weapon. It is also the first-degree burglary when the burglar assaults someone during the act.
Burglary of the second degree is when the building is a dwelling not occupied. It is a second-degree burglary if a portion of the building has a banking business or deals with securities or valuable papers and an entry is made with force or by threatening force.
It is also a second-degree offense if a portion of the building has a pharmacy where controlled substances, or if a tool is used to access the building. Entering a building with the intent of committing a crime or actually committing the crime when the building is a school, government building, religious establishment, or historic property is also considered second-degree burglary.
Burglary of the third degree is where someone enters a building without consent and intends to or commits a felony or misdemeanor, either directly or as an accomplice.
Burglary of the fourth degree is when a person enters a building without content and intends to or commits a misdemeanor other than stealing.
The law in Minnesota is comprehensive and lists out all possible crimes that could occur when a burglar invades a building, whether it is a home or any other type of building. The classification of degrees ensures that crime would get the punishment based on its severity.
Punishment under the law
In the state of Minnesota, burglary is a crime that would invite punishment and fines as a penalty. The burglary acts are classified based on the degree or seriousness of the offense.
- Burglary in the first degree would lead to imprisonment for a period of not more than 20 years or a fine of up to $35,000 or both. The law also states that burglary of a dwelling that is occupied must be committed to the commissioner in corrections or a county workhouse for a minimum of six months.
- Burglary in the second degree is punishable by imprisonment of a maximum of 10 years or a fine of a maximum of $20,000 or both.
- Burglary in the third degree is punishable by imprisonment of a maximum of five years or a fine of a maximum of $10,000 or both.
- Burglary in the fourth degree would lead to imprisonment for a period of not more than one year or a fine of up to $5,000 or both.