Best Criminal Records Search Tool Online!

Criminal Records Search!

Search for Criminal Records, Arrest Records and Court Documents!

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 17, 2019
Sensitive Information!
Access Arrest Records & Criminal Records. Please Check Website Terms of Use!
Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is the Law on Arson in Oregon and What are the Punishments for It?

Fire can happen anywhere in a home, building, or any property. Fire can occur due to various reasons that include short circuit, gas leakage, or an accident. Fire is destructive and can cause serious damage and even destruction. Setting fire deliberately with the intention of causing damage or destruction is known as Arson. There are various aspects related to Arson that is defined in the laws. The laws related to Arson in the state of Oregon is explained in this article.

Arson in Oregon

In the state of Oregon, the Oregon Revised Statutes 164.315, 164.325, 164.335, 164.338 and 164.342 deals with Arson. In the state of Oregon, the act of Arson is classified under two grades – first grade and second grade. This classification is done based on the severity of the crime.

Arson in the second degree in the state of Oregon is defined as when a person causes a fire or explosion and intentionally damages a building of another not protected, or a property of another, where the damage causes more than $750. Any fire or explosion caused by someone manufacturing meth in an unprotected property is also considered second-degree Arson.

Oregon Arson Law

Arson in the first degree is defined as an act where a person causes a fire or explosion and the person internally damages protected property of another. Also, when a protected property is subject to danger or a fire in any property places someone in physical danger, it would be considered as first-degree Arson.

When the fire caused results in an injury to a firefighter or officer it would be considered as first-degree Arson. Any fire or explosion caused by someone manufacturing meth in a protected property is also considered first-degree arson.

Reckless burning is where a person recklessly damages somebody else’s property by fire or explosion.

Arson incident to the manufacturing of a controlled substance in the second degree is similar to Arson in the second degree, the difference though is the fire is caused due to or incident to the manufacture of a controlled substance.

Arson Law

Arson incident to the manufacturing of a controlled substance in the first degree is similar to Arson in the first degree, the difference though is the fire is caused due to or incident to the manufacture of a controlled substance.

The law defines protected property as one that is occupied by people and includes public buildings.

Punishment under the law

Arson of the first degree is a Class C felony as per the laws of Oregon and conviction would lead to imprisonment for up to 5 years or a maximum fine of $125,000, or both.

Arson of the first degree is a Class A felony as per the laws of Oregon and conviction would lead to imprisonment for up to 20 years or a maximum fine of $375,000, or both.

 Arson Law Oregon

Reckless burning is a Class Misdemeanor. A conviction for this can lead to imprisonment for up to 1 year or a maximum fine of $6250, or both.

Arson incident to the manufacture of a controlled substance in the second degree is a Class C felony as per the laws of Oregon and conviction would lead to imprisonment for up to 5 years or a maximum fine of $125,000, or both.

Arson incident to the manufacture of a controlled substance in the first degree is a Class A felony as per the laws of Oregon and conviction would lead to imprisonment for up to 20 years or a maximum fine of $375,000, or both.


Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 17, 2019
Sensitive Information!