Oregon Domestic Abuse Laws and How to Get Help for Domestic Abuse
According to the Domestic Abuse Laws of Oregon, an act of domestic abuse has been defined as any of the acts mentioned below between household or family members:
- Recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally placing someone else in the apprehension of a potential bodily injury
- Trying to inflict or recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally causes bodily injury, or
- Cause someone else to get involved in sexual acts by the threat of force or force.
Under the state’s domestic abuse law, household or family members refer to only the following:
- Former spouses.
- Adults who are related by adoption, marriage, or blood.
- People who lived together in the past or are living together at present.
- The kid’s unmarried parents, or
- People who are engaged in a physically intimate relationship in the last 2 years.
Mandatory Arrests in Oregon
When the state’s peace officer responds to a call on a domestic disturbance and has sufficient reason to believe that the apprehension of possible severe bodily injury or an assault took place between household or family members, the officer can arrest the accused domestic abuser and take him/her into their custody.
Restraining Orders in Oregon
According to the Family Abuse Protection Act of Oregon, it is possible for the victim of domestic abuse to file for a restraining order in the court so that their attacker can be dissuaded from harming them in the future. The court can issue the following restraining orders based on the prevailing circumstances:
- The petitioner can be awarded the custody of the kids on a temporary basis.
- The respondent may have to go out of their shared home in case the home in question is in the name of the petitioner, is owned jointly, the parties concerned are married or the home is jointly rented.
- The party who has to move out of the shared home will be accompanied by a cop so that their necessary personal effects can be removed.
- Forbid the respondent from stepping into a specific area that surrounds the residence of the petitioner.
- Stop the respondent from being at a certain distance from the petitioner.
- The respondent will be restrained from molesting, menacing, interfering with, or intimidating the petitioner or kids if any in the custody of the petitioner, and
- Any other steps as are considered necessary by the court.
In case, a court issues a restraining order, a notice of such a protective order should be served to the respondent. The latter can request a court hearing within days of the date of serving the restraining order. If the respondent does not request a hearing within 30 days, the court will confirm the restraining order.
Help for Domestic Abuse in Oregon
In case a person is facing domestic abuse in their household or family, they can dial the number 911 in an emergency. It will enable them to get in touch with an organization that serves to safeguard victim rights.
Oregon Domestic Abuse Statistics
Check out some of the major Domestic Abuse Statistics in Oregon:
- According to a survey conducted in the state in 2004, 31 percent of the women in the age group of 20 to 55 years admitted that they had been victims of various kinds of domestic violence.
- From 1997 to 2003, 127 homicide cases were reported in the state where the victims were 12 years or older. The killings took place because of intimate partner violence.
- In 2007, 20 deaths took place because of intimate partner violence. In Oregon, 43 percent of the female homicides occurred because the victims were murdered by their intimate partners.