What is the Law on Murder in Oregon and What are the Punishments for it?
In the state of Oregon in the USA, murder is the most severe charge that any man can face. In the western coastal state, the Common Law for felony murder law has been stated under 163.115 of the Oregon Revised Statutes.
Most states around the United States of America categorize criminal homicide into manslaughter, first-degree murder, second-degree murder, and many other categories. Unlike those other states in the state of Oregon, there are only two ways by which murder is classified.
The first is just murder, and the second is aggravated murder. Aggravated murder can be held in comparison with capital murder in other states. It is the act of killing another person while plotting or committing some other hideous crime.
Definition of Murder
Murder in the state of Oregon entails the act of causing the death of another man while committing or attempting in performing fleeing or furtherance, or any of the enlisted crimes :
- Kidnapping or aggravated kidnapping
- Arson, Burglary, Robbery, or Escape all in the first degree
- Criminal mischief also in the first degree, particularly the ones that carried employing explosive devices.
- Sexual Offense felony of first degree
- Compelling or enthralling into prostitution
- Assault of both first and second degree on a minor of age below 14
- Recklessness with human life resulting in the death of a child below the age of 14 or any other dependent person
- Negligence leading to the death of a minor below the age of 14 or a dependent
Definition of Aggravated Murder
Aggravated murder in the state of Oregon consists of 'murder' along with any of the following points:
- Paying someone money to commit the murder or getting money to kill someone
- A prior conviction or record of manslaughter or first-degree murder; or could be the conviction of a crime of sane degree
- Death resulted from intentional maiming or torture of the victim by the defendant
- Murder of two or more people at the same time or the multiple murders linked to the defendant
- The murder victim was a minor under the age of 14
- the crime was committed to conceal some other illegal activity or hide the accuser's real identity
- Murder committed after escaping from the custody of a correctional facility or penal institution
- The death of the victim was a result of an explosive device while enacting theft of the first degree
- The murder occurred while the defendant was already serving his or her prison sentence
- The murder victim was on-duty parole, probation, correctional, police, or judicial officer; public servant or liquor enforcement inspector.
Penalty for murder in Oregon
The penalty can vary from 10 years in prison to the death penalty.
Punishment for Murder in Oregon
If the defendant is more than 15 years of age, then he can get a sentence of life imprisonment for murder in the court of Oregon. The minimum prison time is of 25 years for a murder offender in Oregon. The prisoner can later petition for a second hearing in case of rehabilitation within the limited time to reduce the minimum prison sentence. Findings in favor of the defendant can lead to early release from prison.
Punishment For aggravated murder in Oregon
Aggravated murder or the act of killing of a pregnant woman, with the knowledge of pregnancy can lead to capital punishment or the death sentence for the accused. On a few cases, the defendant can also get life imprisonment sentence without the possibility of parole or just life imprisonment if he or she does not get the death sentence in the first place. The minimum prison sentence for aggravated murder in Oregon is 30 years.