Alabama Criminal Record Expungement: Learn How to Get Your Criminal Record Expunged in Tennessee
Like every other state of the U.S. Tennessee has its terms and conditions for the expungement of criminal records. There is a long list of crimes that come within the ambit of expunction and another long list for those that do not. The update concerning expunction was done by The Legislature of Tennessee July 1, 2017, wherein they brought in three new laws.
Getting your name erased from criminal records isn’t easy in Tennessee. If you are not an expert in legal matters you will have to get yourself a lawyer first who would guide you in filling the form to file a request. After that, you’ll have to wait for quite some time for the order to be given by the judge of the district court for the expunction. Lastly, you will have to visit a court clerk to get your copy of the order. There are no reprints of the copy as they are destroyed immediately after the order is given.
Things you should know about the updated expungement laws
- A maximum of two criminal charges is eligible to be expunged.
- Only a few Class A Misdemeanors and Class E Felonies come under the purview of expunction laws.
- A petitioner will have to wait for two years before he can file another petition if the first fails or gets rejected by the court of law.
- The charge for filing an expunction petition is $280. You will also have to pay an amount of $100 to the court clerk every time you file a petition.
- You are eligible to file a petition for expunction in Tennessee five years after the date of conviction.
- Expunction implies that your name gets removed from the public records and not from the law enforcement records.
- All the payments are to be made before any proceedings with the expunction.
- After the expunction, you are eligible to get yourself a handgun carry permit.
- Forwarding phone call recordings without the concerned person’s permission
- Worthless cheques for an amount of $501 to $999
- Burgling into an automobile
- Tampering with valuable documents
- Destruction of property wills
- Theft of $501 to $999
- Destruction of public or private property worth $501-$999
- Production and peddling of illegal drugs such as meth, heroin, and cocaine
- Gifts of spoilt and hazardous food items
Let’s look at some of the charges that cannot be expunged
- Physical molestation and assault
- Violation of restraining order
- Indecency in public places
- Sexual offense, especially against minors
- Child abuse and rape
- Trading of items injurious to minors
- Neglect of one’s children
- Driving under the influence of narcotics
- Owning a potentially dangerous dog
The decision of expunction finally rests with the courts. They weigh and consider the gravity of the felony and come to a decision accordingly. Federal convictions cannot be expunged from any district court in Tennessee.
In order to file a petition, you will have to pay an amount of $350. No proceedings will occur before the payment. The amount is non-refundable.
Your name can be cleared off multiple charges if the charges pertain to the same crime.
There is a provision for partial expunction where you can clear yourself of one of the many charges against you.
If hiring a lawyer is beyond your means there are alternatives where you will get free and dependable legal guidance. Websites like ‘Legaladvice24-7.com’ have got phone numbers of attorneys who can be consulted at any time. There are other toll-free numbers as well.
Search for Tennessee Criminal Records with GoLookUp