How to Get a Firearm License in Delaware
If you are a resident of Delaware and are planning to buy a gun, you should know that Delaware gun laws have an “Unrestricted” or “Shall Issue” policy wherein the “Shall Issue” policy is used for reciprocity. Residents of Delaware can carry a firearm which can be either concealed or open without any requirement of a permit. Non-residents, however, must possess a permit that Delaware honors to carry a concealed firearm in the state. Delaware does not issue permits to non-residents.
Things to know about the Delaware gun license
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Delaware Attorney General through the local Sheriff’s office. The processing time of a concealed carry permit is 90 days from the application being received. Also, under Delaware gun laws, there are no legal requirements to inform law enforcement that you possess a firearm. The law state that you must carry the permit, together with valid identification, at all times when you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
The way reciprocity works in Delaware
There are many states that honor a Delaware license. They are Arizona, Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Georgia, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Iowa , Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri , Mississippi, Nevada, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Texas, Vermont, West Virginia, Virginia, and Wisconsin. It counts to 36.
Delaware honors permit from all the above-mentioned states except Vermin. It counts to 35.
Eligibility criteria that you need to fulfill
You must fulfill the following criteria if you are to get a permit:
- You should be at least 21 years of age to apply for a permit
- You should have been a resident of Delaware, and the duration should not have been less than six months
- You should be physically stable and not subject to any physical infirmity which prevents you from safely and securely handling a firearm
- You should be familiar with operating a firearm
- You must not use liquor to the extent that it impairs your normal faculties which will become an impediment from safely handling the firearm
- You legally competent
- You should not have been committed to a mental institution or asylum.
How to obtain a Delaware gun permit
You should follow these steps for obtaining a permit:
- Download the application form which is available online.
- Fill out the form
- Print 4 copies of the form
- Since the DCI or WY Attorney General’s Office do not accept cash, credit cards or personal checks, you have to obtain a money order or cashier’s check for the application fee which will be payable to DCI or WY Attorney General’s Office.
- Go to the local Sheriff’s office and inquire about their fees as it is separate from the DCI fees.
- You have to take the forms and money order to the local Sheriff’s office in the county of your residence.
- Submit your applications to the Sheriff’s office.
- You have to take a copy of your application to a Delaware DOT Driver’s Services office where your picture will be taken for the permit. This step needs to be completed within ten days of your application.
- When the Sheriff’s office receives your permit, you will be contacted within 60 days.
Delaware firearm license expenses
$64 is required for obtaining a new permit. If you want to renew your license, you have to pay $45 if your permit has not expired. In case it has expired, you would need to pay $55. For a duplicate permit, you would require to pay $5.