How to Obtain a Firearms License in Maine
Anyone looking to purchase a firearm in Maine needs to acquire all the necessary information before doing so. Maine is a state that has a constitutional carry provision, and it is a shall issue state, so any resident of Maine can purchase a firearm. Permits are issued to non-residents as well. There is no permit required to open carry a gun as long as they fit the requirements. These requirements are mainly a federal requirement such and to buy a handgun, you must:
- Be 18 years old or older
- You must provide a present government state ID like your driver's license.
- Be subjected to a background check that is performed by a licensed firearms dealer; and
- A signed acknowledgment that you have received a basic firearms safety course.
How to obtain a concealed handgun permit in Maine
The first thing to check before you apply for a concealed handgun permit is to check if you fit the requirements which are listed below
- Minimum age requirement
You need to be at least 18 years old to apply for a permit.
- Good moral character
The concealed handgun issuing authority will determine this based on past evidence recorded through the federal check within the last five years.
- You are not a convict
If you have not been convicted in a court of a violation of possession of firearms in an establishment that prohibits firearms within the past five years.
- You have not been a part of any criminal investigation
You have not been the subject of an investigation by any law enforcement agency within the past five years regarding the alleged abuse by your family or household members.
- You are not an addict or an abuser of alcohol or drugs..
Steps involved in applying for a concealed handgun permit in Maine
1. Read the CCW pamphlet
To apply for a concealed handgun permit/license in Maine, you must read the CCW pamphlet that is entitled Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Firearms.
2. Download the application for a concealed handgun license under the FORMS tab
3. Complete the form and fill up the required fields
4. Documents to carry before submitting the application
You must carry the following documents when you go to submit your application.
- An application for a concealed carry permit.
- The fee is $35 for a new applicant, and it is $20 for renewal fee for a renewal application made payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine.
- Any necessary copies of CCW permit issued by other states or municipalities within Maine.
- A valid copy of the DD-214 form if the applicant is a member of the Armed Forces.
- A legitimate copy of a birth certificate or INS document.
- A colored passport photograph
- Proof of knowledge of handgun safety.
5. Submit your application
You can mail your application to the state police or physically take it to the local police station.
You will be notified within 30 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.
Areas in Maine where you cannot carry your firearm
Specifically, firearms are prohibited from:
- Any law enforcement building, detention facility, prison, or jail;
- A courthouse or courtroom;
- Restricted areas of an airport
- Labor disputes or strikes
- Casinos and areas of a restaurant or establishment where alcohol is sold for immediate consumption and also places that have firearm prohibition signs.
- Acadia National Park
- School zones and educational institutions.
If you have to go to any of these areas, it’s a good idea to leave your gun behind, either at home or locked safely in your car.