How to Get a Firearms License in New Jersey
Majority of the citizens of New Jersey want to protect themselves, or their businesses, and their families with a firearm. The Second Amendment grants the citizens the right to bear arms, but many states, like New Jersey, have very strict gun laws. It is essential to have a clear understanding of what your rights and how you can legally own a gun in the state of New Jersey. If you want to obtain a firearms license in New Jersey, you will need to fill up some paperwork, and the process starts with you visiting the police department.
Requirements for a permit to purchase firearms in New Jersey
The law in New Jersey states that it can provide the permit to purchase firearms to-
- Citizens who have not been convicted of any crime or disorderly behavior.
- Citizens who are not dependent on drugs or alcohol.
- Citizens who do not suffer from any mental illness or disease that may affect their rational use of a firearm.
- Citizens who are above the age of 21 years.
- Citizens whose firearms have not been seized by the Prevention of Domestic Violence Act 1991.
Here are the steps you must take to obtain a firearms license in New Jersey-
1. You need to pick up a Purchaser Identification Card, commonly known as STS-33.
By law, you need to fill up this form to buy a firearm in New Jersey. You can use it to purchase both handguns and long guns, as long as you fill out both the STS-33 and the Handgun Purchasing Permit that is attached. You also need to submit more paperwork like your government issued ID, such as your passport or driver's license. Two or three references, who need to fill out a questionnaire to testify that you have sound mental health and judgment. You will also have to pay $60, for fingerprinting.2. Fill out the form completely and make a copy.
You will need two of these applications for any gun you want to purchase.
3. Give your references a heads up
The STS-33 requires you to mention two character witnesses, whose names and addresses are noted to attest that you're in good mental condition. Don't forget to call them ahead of time and ask them if they are willing to be your references.4. Fill up a Consent For Mental Health Records Search form.
5. Submit a photocopy your driver's license and Social Security card.
Bring along the original copy of these documents to complete your application.6. Submit all your paperwork to the police station
You need to submit the application form and your documents to the police station in your local municipality. Make sure that you have everything you need before you submit your application. Check to find out whether they accept cash or card and pay the $65 fees.7. Get your fingerprint scanned at the police station.
In New Jersey, it is necessary that you are fingerprinted, especially if it is your first time applying for a gun license. However, If you have applied for one before, you may be able to skip getting a fingerprint.8. You have to wait for your response
The law in New Jersey state, states that the police department must reciprocate and provide you with your application within 30 days. However, it is frequently ignored, and it may take several months to receive notification if you don't keep checking in. You need to call the police station if you don't receive a response in 30 days. They are legally responsible for responding in 30 days.
New Jersey Firearms License Background Check