How to get a Firearm Licence in North Dakota
A firearm license for concealed-carry is issued by the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation, to any applicant meeting the qualification requirements. North Dakota is a shall issue state for concealed-carry, and any individual applying for the license is required to undergo and pass a written exam, and submit an application to the local law enforcement agency, which will conduct a thorough background check before it forwards the submitted application form to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation.
The permit issued is valid for five years, and the requirement for a National Instant Check System (NICS) is not required for the resident of North Dakota with a concealed-carry license as this background check is completed during the application process.
The application must be processed within 30 days as stated by the state law; the sheriff is responsible for this process. The police department is required to process this application within ten days, and the BCI is also required to process it within 30 days, this application can only move forward if signed by the chief of police.
Requirements to apply for a Concealed-Carry Permit
As North Dakota takes its guns laws extremely seriously, some requirements imposed to apply for a concealed-carry permit here are:
- A minimum age requirement of 18 is the be met.
- An individual who applies must undergo a written test from a concealed weapon permit test administrator. This test is an open-book test, and every question is to be answered correctly.
- The application must be signed by the county sheriff of where the applicant resides. In case there is a police department located where the applicant resides, this application must be signed by the chief of police as well.
Rules to be followed while carrying a Firearm
there are certain rules and regulations to be followed while carrying a firearm, and when one cannot carry a firearm, some of these are:
- While carrying a concealed firearm for which a license is required, the individual must possess the license for the weapon, and must inform law enforcement of the concealed weapon and must give the license to the officer who demands to inspect it.
- No individual has the authority to carry a loaded firearm in their motor vehicle anywhere in the state of North Dakota.
- Concealed carry is not allowed, in schools, churches, or public events, unless authorized by local law.
- Concealed-carry is not permitted in the part of a building or establishment where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed.
Additional laws to remember for gun owners in North Dakota
- A firearm need not be registered by law in the state of North Dakota.
- The residents of North Dakota are allowed to concealed-carry a firearm without a permit or license, although, open-carry of a handgun requires a permit, whereas open-carry of a long gun is generally not necessary.
- Open-carry of a loaded handgun is only permitted if the individual possesses a concealed-carry license.
- There are no existing laws on Assault weapons, whether it is a long gun or handgun.
- No law on magazine capacity exists for long guns or handguns.
- NFA-compliant automatic firearms must be registered with the county sheriff and the BCI.
- Privates sales do not require a background check in the state of North Dakota.
- In case of an address change, the beholder of a license must submit a change of address in writing to the Bureau of Criminal Instigation, within 30 days from the date of the change.