How to Get a Firearm License in South Carolina
South Carolina is a comparatively a free state when it comes to the possession of firearms, and there are only a few rules and that you need to know about to make sure you remain on the right side of the law. The gun laws in South Carolina operate on a Shall Issue policy at the state level. They allow the issue of concealed carry permits to citizens and non-residents. If the non-residents own property in the state., they can purchase firearms or own them. There are exemptions that are given to military personnel who are posted in the state. South Carolina does not permit non-resident licenses from other states.
It is a gun-friendly state, so South Carolina does not put too many restrictions when residents are looking to purchase a handgun. You don't require a permit or license to purchase or own a firearm. That doesn’t mean you can stroll into your local gun store and grab a gun off of the shelf, and there are a few requirements before you do purchase a gun1. The resident must be at least 21 years old or older.
2. Residents must have completed an approved firearms training class.
3. People who reside in South Carolina, or if a resident of another state can submit and prove that you own property in South Carolina.
4. Residents who have not been convicted of a violent crime that is a felony.
5. Good eyesight so you must have an actual or corrected vision of 20/40.
6. Are not a person who, by order of a circuit judge or county court judge of South Carolina, has been adjudged unfit to carry or possess a firearm.
If you purchase a handgun from someone through a private sale, then the background check is not necessary.
Along with the requirements mentioned above for buying a handgun, certain situations would prohibit you from purchasing a gun.
You cannot own a handgun if :
- You are a convicted criminal or convicted of a crime of violence;
- You are a fugitive from justice;
- You are a habitual drunkard or drug addict; or
- Residents who have been committed to a mental institution or diagnosed as mentally unstable.
If none of the above situations applies to you, you can easily purchase a gun.
Permit or how to purchase a long gun
The process of buying a rifle is just as simple as it is for handguns. The requirements are even less strict.
To purchase a long gun,
- You must be 18 years old or older;
- You should provide an Identification proof, like your driver’s license
- A licensed firearms dealer must perform a background check on you.
Similar to handguns, you can skip the background check if you are buying your long gun from a private individual, rather than a licensed firearms dealer like your local gun store.
In South Carolina, open carry of handguns is not allowed. Long guns, however, are allowed to be carried openly.
How to carry firearms in South Carolina
Even if you are not carrying your guns around town, you will need to be careful when you are transporting your guns in a vehicle.
Whenever you have your firearms in the car, you need to make sure that they are secured in a closed trunk or container. Handguns can be stored in the glove compartment or console too, not just the trunk. No matter where you store it though, you’ll need to make sure the container is secured and locked.
After you receive your permit, you will be happy to know that in South Carolina, Concealed Weapons Permits are valid for five years.