How to Get a West Virginia Gun License
If you are a resident of West Virginia, and you are worried about the safety about yourself and your family, you can get a firearm to protect yourself. West Virginia gun laws are some of the least restrictive in America as West Virginians do not require to have a license to carry a firearm provided the person is at least 18 years old and is legally entitled to have a firearm under state and federal law.
To conceal carry without a license, the resident of West Virginia should be 21 years or older. If 18-20-year-old wishes to conceal carry, they would require a Provisional CHL license. If you wish to travel out of state, it is possible for you to obtain a concealed handgun license if you are a resident of West Virginia.
The way reciprocity works in West Virginia
If the licensee is 21 years or older, West Virginia honors non-resident and resident CCW licenses from states that are on the West Virginia reciprocity list. However, since West Virginia is a permitless carry state, the honoring of out-of-state CCW licenses does not matter anymore. This means that a person who is 21 or older can legally possess a firearm and carry a concealed weapon without any requirement of the license.
States honouring a West Virginian license are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. It counts to 36.
CCW West Virginia honours are- Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming. It counts to 34.
However, there are 13 states that do not honor a West Virginian license, and they are California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington and the District of Columbia.
CHL license overview
Although West Virginia is a constitutional carry state, you can still obtain a concealed carry license if you are traveling to other states. For any person that applies for a CHL license, there is a “Shall Issue” policy still in effect.
Two types of license are issued- Provisional and Optional
Provisional license – this license can be obtained by anyone aged from 18 - 21. The validity of the license is three years but expires when the licensee turns 21 years old.
Optional License – this license is issued for five years and can be obtained by any person who meets the criteria and is at least 21 years old.
The cost of an Optional CHL license is $75, and its validity is five years. The cost of a Provisional CHL license is $25.
Steps for obtaining a concealed carry permit
- You have to complete your firearm training course.
- Download the application form.
- You will need these documents- completed application form, firearms course certificate, driver’s license/ID card.
- You need to file your application at the Sheriff’s office in the county you reside in.
- When the permit/license is ready to be picked up, you will be contacted.
West Virginia gun license renewals
In case of renewal, you need to carry your existing permit and driving license. The application for renewal should be signed in front of a notary, and a NICS background check would be done as it is compulsory for renewing your license.