How to Get a Firearm License in Wisconsin: How it Works and How to Obtain it
You must be a resident of Wisconsin to obtain a firearm license in Wisconsin. Non-resident firearm license applications are not entertained here. The gun laws operate at the state level, and all concealed weapons licenses are issued forth by the Department of Justice. Wisconsin does not require you to register any of your firearms while applying for a firearm license. Open carrying of firearms is permissible for any individual over the age of 18 who aren't prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law.
Wisconsin Gun License State Reciprocity
Wisconsin honors the firearm license of 42 states if the person in possession is 21 years old and above. Twenty-nine states, in turn, recognize a Wisconsin firearm license while 21 do not. Alabama, Indiana, North Dakota are some of the states that do. California, New Mexico, and New York, on the other hand, states that do not.
Wisconsin allows the licenses of certain states with a rider. So, it honors the Virginia Non-Resident Permit but not the Resident one. It recognizes the Class A Massachusetts Permit and the Enhanced/Gold Permits for South Dakota.
A Wisconsin Firearm License is issued to a resident of Wisconsin over the age of 21 who have completed a firearm training course. Applications can be filed online or via mail and are processed by the Wisconsin Department of Justice. You may also be able to receive an emergency license, valid for 30 days. To get one, you will have to obtain permission from a Court in your county of residence proving that you need immediate access to one to protect yourself from death/bodily harm.
You will be issued a license as a non-resident only if you happen to be military personnel stationed in Wisconsin.
All applications for Concealed Carry will require proof of completing a firearms safety training course. Open carry does not require any such evidence.
Check your eligibility for obtaining a firearm license in Wisconsin before going ahead with your application –
- Individuals must be a minimum of 21 years of age.
- He/she must have completed the mandatory firearm safety training.
- Persons must be a resident of the state.
- They should not be prohibited by the Court from carrying/possessing a firearm.
- Not a convict of a felony within the state or elsewhere.
- You haven’t been recognized as a delinquent by Court in the state or elsewhere.
- You are not under treatment for any mental illness.
Wisconsin Gun License Application Process
Once you’ve completed your firearms safety training course, here’s how you go about getting yourself a firearm license in Wisconsin –
- You decide if you want to apply online or via mail.
- If you want to mail, you download this application under FORMS tab.
- Fill in this application form with three original signatures and your Wisconsin mailing address, licensing fee, proof of firearm training and a valid government ID no.
- Then, you are required to mail this to the Department of Justice, Wisconsin.
- If your application is approved, you will be notified by mail.
It takes 21 days for a new permit to be processed. The permit so issued is valid for five years, after which it will have to be renewed. You can renew this permit 120 days prior or 90 days after the scheduled expiration of your permit. You will be mailed a unique ID number which you can then use to get through to the online license renewal system. It is a good idea to brush up on Wisconsin’s gun laws after you’ve successfully obtained a firearm permit as the laws here tend to differ from the existing laws governing understates. After all, do not want to be caught in defiance of state diktat.