How to Get a Firearm License in Wyoming
If you are a resident of Wyoming and are planning to buy a gun, you should know that Wyoming gun laws operate on an "Unrestricted" and “Shall Issue” policy, wherein the “Shall Issue” policy is used for reciprocity purposes. Residents of Wyoming can carry a firearm which can be either concealed or open without any permit. Non-residents, however, must possess a permit that Wyoming honors to carry a concealed firearm in the state. Wyoming does not issue permits to non-residents.
The way reciprocity works in Wyoming
States honouring a Wyoming license are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin. It counts to 36.
Wyoming honours permits from the following states- Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin. It counts to 35.
Eligibility for a Wyoming gun license
You should fulfill the following criteria if you are to get a permit:
- You should be at least 21 years of age
- You should have been a resident of Wyoming for not less than six months
- You should not suffer from any physical infirmity which prevents you from safely handling a firearm
- You should be familiar with a firearm
- You must not use alcoholic liquor and malt beverages to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired
- You should not be legally incompetent
- You have not been committed to a mental institution
How to obtain a Wyoming permit
You should follow these steps for obtaining a permit:
- Download the application form which is available online.
- Fill out the form and print four copies.
- Obtain a money order or cashier’s check for the application fee made out to DCI or WY Attorney General’s Office since they do not accept cash, credit cards or personal checks.
- Go to the local Sheriff’s office and inquire about their fees as it is separate from the DCI fees.
- Take the forms and money order to the Sheriff’s office in the county you reside in.
- Submit your applications to the Sheriff’s office.
- Once all applications are submitted to the Sheriff’s Office, take the remaining copy to a Wyoming DOT Driver’s Services office to have your picture taken for the permit. This must be done within ten days of your application.
- When the Sheriff’s office receives your permit, you will be contacted within 60 days.
For obtaining a new permit: $64
Renewal: $45, if your expiration date is due
Renewal: $55 after the date has expired
Duplicate permit: $5
It is important to note that money order or cashier’s check should be payable to the DCI since they do not accept credit cards, cash or personal checks. Also, for processing and fingerprinting, the Sheriff’s office can charge a separate fee.
Things to know
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Wyoming Attorney General through the local Sheriff’s office. The processing time of a concealed carry permit is 90 days from the application being received. Also, under Wyoming gun laws, there are no legal requirements to inform law enforcement that you have a firearm. The law does state that you must carry the permit, together with valid identification, at all times during which the holder of the permit is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.