Montana Driver’s Training: Behind the Wheel Training and Permit Training
A person residing in Montana must have a valid driving license to drive in Montana legally. To drive a car, truck or any vehicle, driving license is issued by the state only to those who can exhibit their ability to drive while their evaluation of driving tests. Every state has restricted rules and regulations while providing a driving license either to an individual or commercial license. If you are new to Montana and hold a prior license, you have 60 consecutive days to apply for a valid Montana driving license.
Montana License authority issues you the following licenses on fulfilling its eligibility -1. Traffic Education Permit -This permit can be issued to individuals between 15 and 18 years of age if you have enrolled yourself in a state-approved Traffic education and driver education course. Such applicants must operate a motor vehicle under the direct supervision of his traffic education instructor, seating beside the applicant on the front seat. Your TEP will only be valid until you are enrolled in the course.
2. Learner license -The applicant must be at least 16 years of age without traffic education and 15 years with approved traffic education course. Learner license can be applied once you have attained the period along with required identification documents, licensing fee and appear for the test at the licensing authority division. The license is only valid for one year, from the date of issuance. If you are under 18, your application must be co-signed by your parents or guardian.
- Primary ID (e.g., state-certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, Certificate of Naturalization).
- Secondary ID(health insurance card, employer photo ID, Social Security Card )
- Proof of Montana Residence
- Social Security Number
- Enrolment Certificate in Driver Education Course if you are below 16
The driving tests you may have to pass for obtaining a license are –1. Vision screening - The applicant may be asked to wear glasses or lenses to drive safely if required.
2. Written tests – These may include questions regarding traffic laws, safe driving practices and drug and alcohol laws and effects.
3. Driving test - The applicant will have to show his driving skills and ability to the examiner, who will be sitting beside you the whole time in the car.
Graduated Driving License (GDL) which is applicable for all new drivers under 18 years of age, regulates the number of increasing accident cases among teens. Under GDL, all new driver license applicants will have to pass the driving exam conducted by the licensing authority. You will remain without a choice at your current GDL level (learner or intermediate) until six months from the date of conviction has elapsed. GDL in Montana is a three-step programme. It includes your instruction permit, the first-year restricted license, and full privileged drivers license1. Instruction permit -This permit requires driving under supervision. You must complete 50 hours of driving practice including 10 hours during the night, in a minimum of 6 months. The driving should be done in the presence of your educator or your guardian holding a valid driving license.
2. The first year restricted license -Once step 1 of GDL is covered, you may continue for driving under restrictions for a year. Unless your supervisor is present, no person of below 18 in age can sit with you, for the first half year of your restricted license. You have to restrict your driving between, 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
3. Full privilege driving license -Once you reach step 3 and you are 18 years old, you become eligible for full privilege driving license either class D or commercial.