North Carolina Drivers Training: Behind the Wheel Training and Permit Training
Driving is a tremendous responsibility, and you cannot do it without proper training and a Driver's License. In North Carolina, driving is prohibited without a valid license. The Department of Motor Vehicles or DMV in North Carolina issues several types of licenses and permits falling in different categories like commercial, regular and provincial licenses. The restrictions and endorsements in each of these types of permits vary from each other. The license type depends on the kind of vehicles you wish to drive and accordingly the fee that you have to pay will also change.
If you do not have a Driver's License in North Carolina, then it is illegal too –
- Drive your vehicle in any of the streets
- Driving on highways
- Steer a car even if someone else is towing it or pushing it
- If the engine is running and you are sitting on the driver’s seat
If you are between 15 and 17 years of age, then the DMV of North Carolina will issue you graduated permits and licenses, and if you are of 18 years of age or above, then you will get the learner's permit.
License for new drivers in North Carolina
To apply for the Driver's License in North Carolina, you need to be at least 18 years of age. Moreover, you will have to go in person to the DMV license office nearest to your area and then file the application. The documents that you need to carry with you are listed below –
- Proof of your identification and your mentioned age in the use
- Your Social Security Card and in case you do not have the card with you, you can take any document that will prove that you have your own Social Security Number
- If you are a U.S. Citizen, then you need to carry documentation of citizenship
- If you are not a U.S. Citizen, then you need to take some government-approved document that will state and affirm your legal presence in North Carolina
- If you are a provider who is licensed to do business in the state of North Carolina, then you need to bring some document that will prove you have a liability insurance coverage
If you are applying for the North Carolina REAL ID driver license, then you will need some other things to bring with you as well.
If you have gathered all your documents and done with the application part, then you will need to pass some tests as follows –
- Written knowledge – This test is about your knowledge regarding the laws and rules of traffic that will help you in the long run. You also need to show how much you are aware of the safe-driving practice. The test is offered in more than one language, so you do not need to worry about that. If you request for an oral examination with sufficient reasons, then you might even get that.
- Traffic signs – This test is to see your knowledge on the topic of warning and regulatory signs. You will be asked to identify the symbols based on their shape and color. Moreover, you will also have to explain each of those signs.
- Vision – There are certain vision standards of North Carolina that you will have to meet. If you wear corrective lenses, then you need to wear them the entire duration of your driving session, and your license will mention that.
- Driving skills – This test will see whether you know basic driving skills and patterns.
You will receive a Temporary Driving Certificate once you pass all tests and pay your required fee. After that within 20 days, you will get your Learner’s Permit.