Ohio Driver Training: Behind the wheel Training and Permit Training
An Ohio resident to drive a car, truck or any vehicle must have an Ohio Drivers License. The state gives this license only to those who can exhibit their ability to drive while their evaluation of driving tests. Every country has restricted rules and regulations while providing a driving license either to an individual or commercial license.
Ohio Revised Code for driver license strictly mentions that no person can operate any motor vehicle on a public road unless the person has passed the required tests and obtained driving permission from Registrar of Motor Vehicles. To ensure that every driver on the road drives safe for himself and others too, Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV ) has framed few guidelines and restrictions for applying to a drivers license.
Obtaining first driver license in Ohio –
- To receive a first motor vehicle driver license and to begin your behind the wheel driving training in Ohio, you must be 15 years and six months of age.
- Your application must be accompanied with validated documents such as Documentary name and age proof, Primary and Secondary id, Social Security number, Legal presence in US, Ohio street address, etc.
- If you are under 18, your application must be co-signed by your parent or legal guardian.
- The applicants must pass vision screening where the requirement of lenses may be checked, and traffic and driving knowledge test to obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC ).
- The driving knowledge test may contain multiple choice questions about Ohio traffic laws, road rules, highway warnings, traffic signs, and motor vehicle regulations.
- You will have to obtain at least 75 % to pass your driving knowledge test.
- Once you obtain your TIPIC, enroll yourself for Driver's education if you are under 18 years of age. Teen drivers should complete 8 hours of training from driving school and should be in a position to present enrolment certificate.
- If you are under 18, you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver of 21 years or older, and if you are under 16, your licensed guardian should be sitting beside you while practicing.
- Your Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) or learner’s permit will expire after one year from the date of issuance, and you will have to renew it then.
- If you are a TIPIC holder under 18, your driving time will be restricted between 5:00 am to 10:00 pm.
- You must always carry your TIPIC while your driving.
The driver license issued to you will carry a red header on top and will mention the tag “under 18 “ or “under 21”.The license granted to applicants above 21 years in age carries a yellow header.
Once you have developed driving skills, you can present yourself for skill test on the road before a driving license examiner. You will have to show your driving ability and may be asked to maneuver some skills and driving tasks. If you are under 18, you will have to present Driver’s Education Certificate and 50 hours of driving experience affidavit (including 10 hours of night driving ) before taking the skill test.
If you fail your skill test, you can take a retest after seven days. If you fail the skill tests four times, then you will have to wait for six months for retesting.
Apart from learners permit, Ohio also grants commercial driver license, motorcycle license and class D license to regular drivers above the age of 21. Any licensed driver must always follow the traffic rules and regulations for safe driving.