Oklahoma Driver Training: Behind the Wheel Training and Permit Training
Any Oklahoma resident to drive a car, truck or any vehicle must have an Oklahoma Drivers License. The state gives this license only to those who can exhibit their ability to drive while their evaluation of driving tests. Every country has restricted rules and regulations while providing a driving license either to an individual or commercial license.
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety has designated some strict requirements for obtaining a drivers permit. The different permits have been categorized by age level and behind the wheel training as covered under new Graduated Driving License (GDL) applicable for all new drivers less than 18 years of age. You will have to stay put at your current GDL level (learner or intermediate) until six months from the date of conviction has elapsed.1. Learner Permit - is the permit for first-time drivers, and it applies to teens. If you are between 15.6 and 18, you can obtain learner license, once you enroll yourself in a Driver Education course and can show the certificate. You have to appear before a Driver License Examiner and pass a few vision and written tests to obtain the permit. A learner permit is only given when a licensed driver of above 21 years of age accompanies you while driving in the front seat beside you. Your driving test can be taken six months after the permit has been issued.
- Primary ID (e.g., state-certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, Certificate of Naturalization).
- Secondary ID(health insurance card, Oklahoma employer photo ID, Social Security Card )
- Social Security Number
- Enrolment Certificate in Driver Education Course if you are below 16
- Your parent and legal Guardian must be present if you are under 18
- If you are under 18, you must have a permit of 6 months from the issue date
- You must have acquired 50 hours of behind the wheel training along with 10 hours of practice during the night from the licensed driver and licensed for at least two years
- Your driving record should not have any traffic convictions
- You must have passed the driving skills exam
If you have obtained an intermediate license for at least six months and there are no traffic convictions in your record, then you become eligible for free license with no restrictions. You must be at least 18 years of age to obtain an unrestricted permit.
Driver Education or Parent Taught Driver Education - The approved driving education providers to new learners whose certificate is recognized by the Department of Public Safety while granting licenses, especially to teenagers.
Various driving tests you may have to pass for obtaining a license are –1. Vision screening- The applicant may be asked to wear glasses or lenses to drive safely if required.
2. Written tests– These may include questions regarding Oklahoma traffic laws, safe driving practices and drug and alcohol laws and effects.
3. Driving test- The applicant will have to show his driving skills and ability to the examiner, who will be sitting beside you in the car. Your examiner will tell you the route where to perform and may ask you to show a few driving maneuvers.
If you fail these tests, you may reappear only once, every 30 days, but you can take the test only three times after the date of eligibility.