What are Idaho Labor Laws?
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal act, which sets the minimum wage threshold for employees across the U.S. It also specifies the remuneration rate for overtime and weekend employment among other standards. Each state can legislate their payment and hour laws as long as the standards are higher than those established by the federal rule.
Employees are compensated at a minimum rate of $7.25 per hour, which is in line with the federal minimum wage rate. Tipped employees are paid a minimum price of $3.35 per hour if their received tips are combined with their earned wages to meet the minimum standard rate. If employers do not pay the minimum wage, the employers are required to make up any shortfall that exists after the tips.
Employees with disabilities – The FLSA may issue special certificates to employers, permitting them to pay their disabled employees a salary below the standard minimum threshold.
Trainees – should be paid a minimum wage not less than the standard minimum.
Apprentices, Learners, Student learners and Student workers (full time) – Employers who have issued an exclusive license from The Idaho Department of Labor can pay their employees a wage below the standard minimum. The wage rate, the conditions or terms and the period for payment of these wages are stipulated in the license. If a student worker qualifies as a student learner, he or she may be paid at a rate lower than the standard.
For employees who are exempt from minimum wage and overtime payments, click on – https://www.employmentlawhandbook.com/federal-employment-and-labor-laws/flsa/exemptions/.
Idaho does not have any legislation for overtime payment, so the FLSA is applicable. There is no threshold for working hours in a day or a workweek. Employees will be paid more than 1.5 times their standard rate, for any hours worked exceeding a 40-hour workweek. A workweek is defined as 40 hours in a recurring cycle of 168 hours, irrespective of which day of the week the period commences.
For employees who are exempt from overtime payments only, go to - https://www.employmentlawhandbook.com/federal-employment-and-labor-laws/flsa/overtime-exemptions/.
Meals and breaks
The federal rule applies here as well since Idaho does not have specific laws legislating break times and payments. Employers are not mandated to provide a recess or mealtime to employees. If employers choose to, shorter breaks of 20 minutes or less should be compensated. Longer breaks of 30 minutes or more do not have to be paid breaks.
The ID Department of Labor: Labor Law Guide states that if employers provide paid or unpaid vacation benefits, they should be in keeping with company policy or contract terms. It is not compulsory for employers to offer these benefits though. Employers can impose a limit on the maximum accrued vacation leave allowed. However, Idaho has not legislated on various factors including whether employers can contract for or establish policy denying these payments, whether employers can remain silent on the issue, whether any factors will disqualify employees from receipt of accrued payments or if a "use-it-or-lose-it" policy can be established. However, employers in the state have relative liberty of denying, imposing limitations or paying increased vacation leave payments. If an employee's contract or company policy allows for accrued leave payment, employers are required to honor those commitments.
Idaho law has not made it mandatory for employees to receive paid or unpaid sick leave, so the federal Family and Medical Leave Act applies. For more details on this act, click on - https://www.employmentlawhandbook.com/federal-employment-and-labor-laws/fmla/.
Employers are not required by Idaho law to provide paid or unpaid holiday leave. If they choose to, the leave must be reflected in the company policy or the employee’s contract. Private employees will not be entitled to receive overtime, for working on holidays. However, if they meet the threshold for overtime payments or overtime law qualifies them for overtime, they will be entitled to receive payments of 1.5 times their standard wage.
Jury Duty, Voting and Bereavement Leave
Employers do not need to pay for jury duty leave, provide bereavement leave or grant paid or unpaid voting leave.
Public employees are granted paid leave on State holidays. Private employees may receive paid or unpaid leave, including premium pay, if their employers agree to do so. If employers do so, the leave and payment terms should mirror established company policy or practice.
For more information on child labor laws, severance pay, etc., click on - https://www.employmentlawhandbook.com/wage-and-hour-laws/state-wage-and-hour-laws/idaho/.