What are Illinois Labor Laws?
If you are working in the state of Illinois, it is essential for you to know the state and federal laws that rule your working principles. In Illinois, as an employee, you are protected throughout your employment process under both federal and state law. However, state laws provide greater protection to working employees than federal law in Illinois regarding health care coverage.
An employer in Illinois, in addition to following federal and state law, has to follow municipal laws concerning the employer-employee relationship. This article will give you all the necessary and essential information you would require to know regarding labor laws in Illinois.
Discrimination and harassment laws in Illinois
Under federal law, employers are prohibited from discriminating on the grounds of race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin, and genetic information. Employers in Illinois who have at least 15 employees are subject to these laws, and for the law prohibiting age discrimination, employers with at least 20 employees must adhere to the code.
In addition to the above laws, laws in Illinois also prohibit discrimination regarding job listings, hiring decision, interviews, layoffs, promotion, compensation, and termination. Also, in addition to the above prohibitions, employees in Illinois are protected from discrimination on grounds such as sexual orientation, marital status.
Equal pay in Illinois
In jobs of comparable work, the Illinois Equal Pay Act (EPA) prevent employers from paying females lesser than males relating to skill and responsibility with an exception only based on a merit system and seniority system. Also, discrimination must not be based on race, color, religion, sexual orientation and national origin.
Wage and labor in Illinois
Regarding minimum wage, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets the minimum wage and working hours that employers must adhere to. Employers are guided by law to pay the highest minimum fee to employees which is $8.25 an hour in Illinois. However, for tipped employees, the minimum wage for Illinois workers is $4.95.
Child labor in Illinois
In Illinois, minors who are aged under 16 are prohibited from working in hazardous jobs like working in underground mines or places that sell liquor. Also, minors working for more than six days in a week.
Leave laws in Illinois
In Illinois, benefits such as paid leave, sick leave, holidays and paid time off (PTO) are discretionary. It is up to an employer to decide whether he or she wants to grant paid leaves to his or her employees. However, employers in Illinois must offer unpaid leave under the following conditions:
Military leave- under the federal Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) and Illinois military leave law, employers must allow their employees to take a vacation from work in case of federal or state military duty.
Military family leaves- Also, under FMLA, eligible employees can get up to 26 weeks off in case of a severe injury to a family member who was on duty.
Domestic violence leaves- For employers who have more than six employees, leave must be given to employees who are victims of domestic and sexual violence for counseling, medical treatment or legal help.
Jury duty- employees in Illinois are guided by law to take leave for jury duty.
Compensation and safety laws
In the case of on-the-job injury, an employee in Illinois is eligible for worker’s compensation.
The Occupational Safety and Health Act, which is a federal law, require employers in Illinois to provide a safe workplace and a non-hazardous working environment.
If employees feel that their employees have committed safety violations, then they have the right to request an Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) inspection.
Leaving a job in Illinois
Employees in Illinois can leave their job at their own will. However, employees cannot surely be fired for discriminatory reasons.