Minnesota Child Custody Laws
The State of Minnesota has formulated its Child Custody Laws on the basis of the primary interests of the child themselves. After the divorce has been finalized, it becomes the job of the court to determine both the legal and well as the physical custody of the child, as well as whether the offspring will require any kind of child support from the other parent. Child Custody Laws in Minnesota include the following parental rights:
- Access to the official documents of the child, including their educational records, their dental records, as well as their religious records.
- According to child custody law, the custodial parent will be in charge of the child’s medical and dental insurance records as well.
- The parent with child custody will be the only one allowed to attend parent-teacher conferences and have access to the name and address of the school of the child.
Best Interest of the Child
In the State of Minnesota, Child Custody Laws are formulated according to the best interest of the child, and not what either parent wants. Minnesota Child Custody Laws always work according to the following factors:
- The wishes of both the parents of the child are given utmost consideration.
- According to the Child Custody Law, the wishes of the child are put above all else, if the child is deemed to be of sufficient age, along with having the maturity and the ability to think for themselves. Generally. This age is at 12 years or older.
- How the child will adjust with their parent in a new home, school, and an unfamiliar environment, as well as the cultural background of the child.
- Whether or not both the parties are of optimum mental and physical condition. However, disabilities are considered to be a huge factor against custody, according to the child custody laws.
- The relationship of the child with their parents, siblings if they have any, and their extended family members.
- If the child has faced any history of abuse from either parent, then according to the Child Custody Laws in Minnesota, the other parent will automatically get child custody. However, if the child has suffered from abuse by both the parents, then the primary caretaker of the child will get full custody.
Joint Custody in the State of Minnesota
According to the Minnesota Child Custody Laws, if the child wants the support of both the parents, then the parents will have to raise the child in joint custody. If the child has reached an age of significant maturity, that is 12 years of age or older, then whatever they say will hold paramount importance. According to child custody law, the parent will have no right to contest any aspect of the case. Joint custody in the State of Minnesota includes the following aspects:
- The parents will be judged according to their ability to communicate with one another in a manner that is respectful, not abrasive or rude.
- The court will determine whether or not it will be harmful to give sole custody of the child to only one parent- that is if the other parent has the potential to break the rules and meet their child despite not being allowed to do so legally.
- Whether the two parents will be able to co-operate with each other when making decisions that will directly affect the child in one way or another.
- If the parents have a history of domestic violence, then the victim in the scenario will get sole custody of the child.
In order to understand whether about the intricacies of child custody in the State of Minnesota, it is best advised to take legal counsel.