Knowledge — 3 months ago

New Hampshire Labor Laws and Employee Rights in New Hampshire

by Kelly B.

New Hampshire Labor Law, New Hampshire Labor Laws

What are New Hampshire Labor Laws?

Labor law is the law relating to the rights and responsibilities of workers. Labor law has a uniform purpose of protecting the rights. They provide equal opportunity and pay, protect employee's physical and mental wellbeing, and provide workplace diversity. In the U.S., the Department of Labor administers and enforces the deferral employment laws. In order to be covered by these laws, an employer has to employ a certain number of employees. Employers that lack the number of employees required are covered by the state and local law.

New Hampshire labor laws
The New Hampshire Department of Labor helps the employers operate successfully under the guidance of the labor laws for a fair and safe workplace throughout the state. It mediates the relationship between employer and employee. The Department of Labor in New Hampshire enforces labor laws to provide the employee with at least the minimal socially acceptable conditions to work.

Child labor law
Under the Department of Labor, a minor under 16 years of age must acquire the New Hampshire Youth Employment Certificate. The certificate must be acquired within 3 days of employment from the superintendent of schools or the principal's office. A minor who has graduated from high school can be employed by an employer after obtaining a signed written document from the minor's parent or legal guardian.  The employer must keep a record of proof of age of a minor at all times. There is a limitation of time and hours of working for a minor. A minor also has a limitation on the type of work. Employment in a hazardous environment is deemed unsuitable for minors.

New Hampshire Labor Law

Minimum wage law
The state of New Hampshire must comply with the federal minimum wage law. If the employer chooses to pay according to minimum wage law, the employee is paid the higher wage of the two, federal and state minimum wage rate.

If an employer decides to pay tipped wages to the employee, they must ensure that the employee is paid the standard minimum wage. If the employee fails to receive sufficient tips to cover the difference, the employee must pay the employee to pay the difference between the tipped minimum wage and standard minimum wage.

Overtime pay on one and half times the rate of the regular pay is paid to the employee for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours a week work schedule.

 

Law against discrimination
Discrimination is the practice of unfair treatment of person or group of people on the basis of their age, sex, nationality, disability, religion, race, and such. Like every other state, New Hampshire law against discrimination makes it illegal to discriminate employees. An employee has 180 days within which he/she has to file a case under the New Hampshire state law and 300 days under the federal law.

Protection of pregnant employees is stronger under the New Hampshire law than under federal law. Pregnant women are allowed to take pregnancy-related leave and are reinstated after giving birth, under the pregnancy discrimination law.

New Hampshire Labor Laws

Employment termination law
New Hampshire employs the ‘at will' employment doctrine. The general rule is that the employer and employee can terminate the employment without giving notice or a reason for termination. Employees who are terminated by the employer must be paid all wages earned during the term of employment, within 72 hours of discharge. Employees who voluntarily resign must be paid all wages on the next regular payday unless notice is given by the employee.

Leave law
New Hampshire has no law for employers to grant paid or unpaid vacation benefit, sick leave, holiday leave, jury duty leave, voting leave, or bereavement leave to the employees.  The employer may choose to provide or not provide these leaves. A legally signed contract signed by employer and employee with the terms of leave has to be recorded and filed. New Hampshire follows the federal law for leave of absence under the Family and Medical Leave Act.

New Hampshire labor law is not very different from other states in the U.S. With very little difference, New Hampshire labor laws combined with the federal laws and local laws, provide a safe workplace for employees in the state.


InfoHub by GoLookUp covers the latest and most comprehensive latest updates, news and information from around the web. InfoHub writers explore the internet and collect, analyze and deliver valuable information for our readers.

Golookup © 2015 - 2019 · All Rights Reserved