What are the New Jersey Labor Laws?
That organization must be aware of labor laws cannot be over-emphasized. Those that operate in the state of New Jersey, USA, are no exception to this assertion. Most of the labor issues that confront organizations are because these entities do not take this aspect seriously. That is the reason an attempt is made here to discuss the labor laws that are prevalent in the state of New Jersey.
The leading benefit organizations will derive by knowing the New Jersey Labor Laws is that these entities, as well as their employees, can understand their rights as well as the protections the laws make available to them.
As far as enforcement of the New Jersey labor laws is concerned, it is the WHD or the Wage and Hour Division, that is a wing of the federal Department of Labor, that does the job. WHD enforces various aspects that include the Fair Labor Standards Act that mainly deals with minimum wages, children's employment, and the methods of payment of wages.
Labor Laws of the state of New Jersey that deals with minimum wages
The state of New Jersey has its law that is known as the State Wage and Hour Law, that, along with the federal law, sets the minimum wage rate and the overtime rate and the rules governing both for all the workers who are employed within the state. The minimum wage that was fixed in January 2017 was $8.44 an hour.
Reduction of pay rates according to labor laws of the state of New Jersey
Employers have no powers to reduce the hourly rate below the minimum wages, but they can reduce the rates of pay. They cannot also reduce the price for the hours that the employees have already worked.
Overtime wage according to labor laws of the state of New Jersey
If employees work beyond 40 hours of their actual working hours, employers have to pay 50% more than their regular pay as overtime. But this rule comes with a few exemptions. This clause does not protect employees who receive salaries in place of hourly wages and those who come under the legal definition of professionals, those who work on the administrative side, and executives.
Even if the employees offer to forgo overtime pay or their rights to minimum wages, employers do not have the right to accede to such offers.
Clauses in labor laws of New Jersey about unpaid or withheld wages
According to these clauses, employers cannot make any illegal deductions from the pay of employees. Examples are withholding payment for covering damages like breakages or spillages during discharging their duties. Similarly, employers cannot withhold wages for covering shortages in cash registers or for any other missing amounts.
Clauses in labor laws of the state of New Jersey that talk about Meals and Breaks
Workers below 18 years of age are allowed a break of 30 minutes if they work consecutively for five hours. There are no Meals and Breaks clauses in these labor laws for covering workers above 18 years of age.
New Jersey labor laws do not talk about lunch breaks to employees, but there are specific requirements according to the federal law. Though companies need not give a break to employees, if there is a company policy, employees are entitled to pay during breaks if these breaks are for 20 minutes or a shorter duration.
Severance Pay according to New Jersey Labor Laws
There are no clauses in New Jersey labor laws requiring employers to provide benefits like the severance pay. But if there is a company policy or if there is an employment contract to that effect, employers should adhere to it.
Clauses in New Jersey Labor Laws governing fringe benefits
According to New Jersey labor laws, employers are not required to provide fringe benefits to their employees. But if employers decide to offer them, there should be a uniform policy that complies with the administration of the company or with the agreement that has been entered into with the employees.
Clauses governing Health Insurance Coverage and Medical Benefits
According to the New Jersey Labor Laws, employers are not required to provide health insurance. But the federal government has set up the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act that requires employers to offer health insurance to their employees.
Clauses in New Jersey Labor Laws governing Sheltered Workshop
Charities are allowed to hire those workers with disabilities. These charities are permitted to pay these people rates less than the minimum wages. But they have to obtain a specific permit which stipulates the hours these employees can work, the types of work they should do, as well as their pay.
Clauses in New Jersey Labor Laws about Employment of Minors
Minors below 18 years of age can work only for a certain number of hours. They can take up only certain types of jobs also. But these minors should obtain an employment certificate before beginning to work.