Child Abuse Laws in Alabama: These are Child Abuse laws for the State of Alabama
Child neglect and abuse are crucial health issues in the state of Alabama. Child abuse has been defined as any kind of threatened harm or harm caused to the welfare or health of a child through non-accidental mental or physical injury. Child abuse can also be sexual exploitation or abuse of a child. People in Alabama have identified issues related to child neglect and child abuse as Alabama's 8th highest health problem at present. It is unfortunate though instances related to child abuse in the state frequently go unreported.
Alabama abuse law prohibits child abuse
Any crime committed by a responsible individual such a guardian or a parent becomes child abuse when the former tortures, willfully maltreat, or beats a child cruelly who is below 18-year-old. The act is regarded as a Class C felony and is punishable by an imprisonment term from one to ten years and a fine of a maximum of 15,000 USD.
Aggravated Child Abuse in Alabama
Apart from child abuse, the state also recognized another type of maltreatment of children, which is of a more severe nature. It is referred to as aggravated child abuse in Alabama. The law can punish those people who had been convicted earlier of child abuse or have violated a court order about kids or have caused severe physical injury willfully to a child.
Such abuse is regarded as a class B felony wherein the convicted can be sent to prison for a maximum term of 20 years and a fine of up to 30,000 USD.
When a parent in Alabama goes too far
An accused individual can go too far in some scenarios while punishing his/her child. The question here is at what stage does such an act becomes child abuse. While merely punishing an offspring does not make a parent a “bad parent” necessarily, it can signify that such a parent lacks proper parenting skills. The law in the state acknowledges a guardian or a parent can opt for using physical punishments o discipline their child. In case it is an instance of bad parenting, resolutions of the situation can be made without convicting or imprisoning the parent.
People who can report child abuse in Alabama
Typically, any person who is in regular contact with kids like social workers, teachers, cops, day care workers, dentists, chiropractors, clergy, doctors, nurses, or social persons, as well as, an individual who can offer healthcare to a kid is regarded as a mandatory reporter of child abuse in Alabama.
In case a person knows that any act of child neglect or abuse took place as an individual observed it or described the act, the former should report that suspected incident of child abuse. The concerned employer would have conducted training sand steps for reporting child abuse to any person engaged in any of the above professions. However, although an employer has not done so, the person should still report the act of abuse and follow the law.
False reporting, failure to report, the penalty for not reporting child abuse in Alabama
If a person purposefully fails to report an act of child abuse, it is regarded as a misdemeanor, which can sentence him/her by up to a prison term of six months or a maximum fine of 500 USD. A guardian or a parent commits this crime when not reporting if their child goes missing and shows disregard about the child's safety. It is usually a misdemeanor of Class A and is punishable by a fine of up to 6,000 USD and up to 1 year behind bars.