Drunk Driving Laws Alabama
According to drunk driving laws of Alabama, a driver is regarded as legally drunk in the following scenarios:
- A non-commercial driver who is at least 21-year-old is regarded as legally drunk according to the DUI laws of the state when the alcohol level in their blood is a minimum of .08 percent.
- According to the drunk driving law of Alabama, daycare and school drivers are considered legally drunk if the alcohol level in their blood is more than .02 percent.
- A driver who drives a commercial vehicle can be prosecuted for drunk driving in Alabama if the alcohol level in their blood is at least .04 percent.
- A driver below 21 years of age is considered to be legally drunk when the alcohol level in their blood is a minimum of .02 percent.
Punishment for Drunk driving in Alabama
- First-time offenders
They are penalized with a fine amount between 600 USD and 2, 100 USD and/or a maximum prison term of 1 year. A first-time offender is also required to participate in substance abuse or the DUI program.
- Second-time offenders
Any individual who has committed a 2nd DUI offense within 5 years of the commission of the 1st offense can face a maximum prison term of 1 year including hard labor. No probation or suspension of prison term is allowed in such cases. The court may also order the convict to go for 30 days of community service as a substitute for the prison term. The convict shall also have to pay a fine between 1,100 USD and 5,100 USD. The license of the convicted driver can be revoked for 1 year according to Alabama drunk driving law.
- Third-time offenders
When a person is convicted for the third time, he/she may have to serve a maximum prison term of 1 year including hard labor. The convict shall also have to pay a fine amount between 4,100 USD and 10,100 USD. The license of the guilty driver can be revoked for 5 years.
- Forth-time offenders
When a person is convicted for the 4th or subsequent times for drunk driving in Alabama, he/she will have to serve a prison term between 1 year and 1 day and ten years. They can be also penalized with a fine amount ranging between 4,100 USD and 10,100 USD. The license of the driver who is convicted can be revoked for a period of 5 years.
Enhanced punishment for DUI when a Kid below 14 years was Present in the Vehicle
If a person is at least 21-year-old and is found guilty of drunk driving in Alabama and a kid below 1 4years was in the same vehicle when the offense occurred, the driver’s sentence will be doubled than the minimum criminal penalty that they would have otherwise got if the kid was not traveling in the vehicle.
Drunk Driving under 21
When the offense is committed for the first time, the minor whose alcohol level in the blood is between .02 percent and .08 percent shall automatically receive an order for license suspension for thirty days. It is also imperative for the convicted minor to participate in substance abuse or the DUI program. Also, the convicted minor has to pay a similar fine amount as a grown-up offender.
Enhanced Punishment for Drunken Driving with 0.15 percent BAC
If a convicted driver is detected with a minimum of 0.15% of alcohol level in his/her blood while driving or operating a motor vehicle in Alabama, their sentence will be doubled as opposed to the minimum penalty, which the convicted should have got if their alcohol level in the blood was below 0.15%