Drunk Driving Laws Hawaii
Safe and responsible driving is something primary and essential at the same time, which every person should follow while on the road. All it takes to be a safe and responsible driver is by complying with road safety rules, being alert and responsible on the road all the time. Likewise, safe driving calls for the critical quality of being able to focus all attention on driving, make good judgments and rapidly respond to any circumstances that may arise. Nevertheless, alcohol or being intoxicant largely impacts these mental as well as driving skills, putting the driver and other people at risk.
To take the wheel of a vehicle, be it a motorcycle or truck or car or any other motorized vehicles for that matter, in an intoxicated state is always bad news. Not only that, it is certainly a serious law-breaking as well. Drunk driving also called driving under the influence (DUI) involves controlling a vehicle with a blood alcohol content or blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of at the least 0.08 percent or above. Notwithstanding, even a very little amount of alcohol consumption could lead to adverse circumstances. Many people who get behind the wheel may not even demonstrate any possibility of being drunk or under the influence. That absolutely does not mean that it is any less life-threatening. It is extremely important to understand that any form of driving under the influence is a serious crime that attracts severe penalization all over the world.
Hawaii Drunk Driving Laws
The drunk driving laws in the Pacific U.S. state of Hawaii (HI) forbids driving when the blood alcohol content, generally abbreviated as BAC of the driver is 0.08 percent or above. The stipulated 0.08 percentage level is as per the standard level of measurement that is applicable across the United States of America. The Hawaii drunk driving law is applicable for driving on the road or on the water or in the air. The "Paradise of the Pacific" state has more rigorous laws for the category of 'highly intoxicated driver' as well. For someone to get categorized as 'highly intoxicated driver', the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level would need to be 0.15 percent or above. It is as simple as it is that when someone drinks and drives in the state of Hawaii, it is as good as bidding adieu to freedom and future.
Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limit in Hawaii
Under 21: 0.02%
21 or older: 0.08%
Apart from the standard blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits, the island paradise also has a particular set of laws which is called OVUII. OVUII is nothing but operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant. As per this law, if a policeman thinks intoxicant is involved in a fortuity or any incident involving a vehicle, or if someone appears drunk, the police officer can administrate a specific test to check the blood alcohol content of the person. The safe bet is to hire a taxi cab in case if someone is stuck in a situation where driving a vehicle is out of the question.
Punishment for Drunk Driving in Hawaii
Jail Term: None
Fines and Penalties: $150 to $1,000
License Suspension: 90 days
Jail Term: 5 to 14 days
Fines and Penalties: $500 to $1,500
License Suspension: 1 year
Jail Term: 1 to 5 years
Fines and Penalties: $500 to $2,500
License Suspension: 1 to 5 years
Refusal to Take Chemical Test
1st Offense: 1-year license revocation
2nd Offense: 2 years license revocation
3rd Offense: 4 years license revocation