How to Get a Birth Certificate in Maine?
In Maine, public records including birth records that span back to a period of fewer than 75 years are open to the public only if the applicant is qualified. This means, the applicant must be permitted by law to receive a Maine birth certificate and the applicant must have proof of such permission. There are no restrictions on birth records that are 75 years old or older.
Who is Eligible to Apply for a State of Maine Birth Certificate?
- The subject of the birth record, meaning the individual in whose name the birth record is registered.
- The current spouse of the record subject or a domestic partner
- Either parent of the record subject whose name appears on the birth record.
- Any descendant of the record subject including a child, grandchild, or great-grandchild, be it an immediate or a very distant descendant.
- A legal guardian
- Any representative for the subject with valid authorization.
- Genealogists with an authorization card issued by the DRVS or the Disease Control and Prevention Center of Maine.
The applicant needs to produce a positive identification to prove his or her eligibility. Positive identification prevents misuse of birth records by criminals. Identification screening prevents criminals from assuming a fake identity and indulging in fraudulent acts including credit card frauds and identity impersonation for a license, passport, or other official document applications.
What Qualifies as Positive Identification?
- Driver’s license
- Any other photo identification issued by the government.
In case the applicant does not possess photo identification, he or she can submit 2 photocopies of the following documents provided they carry the applicant’s name:
- Bank statements
- Marriage license
- Any vital record
- Utility bills
- Car ownership papers
- Social security card
- A personal check bearing the applicant’s address
- An identification card issued by the Department of Corrections
- Rental agreement
- Photo identification issued by the applicant’s school
- Any other identification specified here.
How to Get a Birth Certificate in Maine?
1) Apply in Person
- Visit the Vital Records office of Maine located in Augusta on 220 Capitol Street. The office is open to applicants on all weekdays from Monday to Friday, between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
- Carry all required positive identification as applicable.
- Carry a copy of proof of relationship with the record subject or a copy of proof that declares your legal interest in the subject’s birth record.
- Make the required payment in check or cash. The current fee is $15 for a single copy of a birth record. In case you are paying by check, make it payable to State of Maine Treasurer.
2) Apply for Maine Birth Records through Mail
- Enclose a written request for a copy of Maine birth certificate.
- Enclose a copy of positive identification.
- Enclose proof of relationship copy or a copy of a document declaring your legal interest in the record, as applicable.
- Enclose a money order or check for fees. The current fee is $15 for a single copy. Make the money order or check payable to State of Maine Treasurer.
- Enclose a long, stamped envelope bearing your address.
- Mail the entire package to:
Office of Vital Records
Capitol Street 220
Maine 04333 0011
3) Order Birth Certificate Maine Online
- Visit the portal for applying for a birth certificate.
- Apply through the online system using the self-explanatory instructions.
- Upload or fax positive identification as per instructions.
- Upload or fax any legal documents declaring your interest in the birth record as a family member, a representative, or as any other individual.
- Make the required payment using a credit card.
The total cost includes standard certificate fee, online ordering process fee, shipping fee, and an additional charge if you are requesting an expedited service.
- Receive your certificate within the time period specified for your chosen shipping method.
You can also place an order online over the phone. Call 1 877 523 2659 to use this service.