Drunk Driving Laws Illinois
According to the drunk driving laws of Illinois, DUI or driving under the influence of convictions may lead to some of the stringent punishments in the United States.
Under the DUI laws of the state, a person may be penalized with steep fines, prevented from driving, and might even have to serve a jail term although he/she has committed the crime for the first time.
Illinois drunk driving law
These are some of the circumstances when a driver is regarded as legally drunk according to the drunken-driving law of Illinois:
- A driver operating a commercial motor vehicle is considered to be legally drunk if the alcohol level in their blood is a minimum of 0.4% in the state of Illinois. The state treats the school bus drivers also as commercial drivers.
- Non-commercial drivers who are 21+ years old are regarded as legally drunk if the alcohol level in their blood is a minimum of .08 percent.
- A driver aged 21 years or less than that is considered to be indulging in drunk driving if the alcohol level in their blood is more than zero.
Punishment for drunk driving in Illinois
- An individual who is found guilty of DUI can be penalized by a maximum fine of 2,500 USD and a maximum prison term of 1 year.
- When it is a second conviction for a driver within 5 years from the first-time violation, the guilty have to be engaged in community service of 240 hours or a mandatory minimum prison term of 5 days.
- When there is a violation for the 3rd or the 4th time within 5 years from the earlier violation, the guilty is said to have committed the crime of aggravated driving. The law regards it as the Class 2 felony. The offense is penalized by a maximum fine amount of 25,000 USD and a prison term between 3 and 7 years.
- When a person violates the DUI law of the state for the 5th time, the law considers the offense as a Class 1 felony. The offense is penalized by a jail term between four and fifteen years, as well as, a fine amount of 25,000 USD.
- If there is a violation for 6th time, it is considered to be the Class X felony and is penalized by a maximum fine of 25,000 USD and a prison term between six and thirty years.
Additional punishments for Driving Under Influence when the BAC is at least 0.16
- Any individual found guilty of the 1st DUI wherein the alcohol level in the blood was at least 16% will be penalized by an extra compulsory fine amount of 500 USD, as well as, a compulsory minimum community service of 100 hours.
- A person who is found guilty of a 2nd DUI within ten years of the earlier violation whose alcohol level during the 2nd violation was detected at a minimum of .16% will have to pay an extra compulsory minimum fine of 1,250 USD and an extra compulsory prison term of 2 days.
- An individual found guilty of committing the 3rd GUI within twenty years of the earlier violation wherein the alcohol level in the blood while committing the 3rd violation was at a minimum of .16% will have to pay an extra compulsory fine of 2,500 USD and an extra compulsory minimum jail term of 90 days.
Apart from other punishments attached to the DUI laws of Illinois, any commercial driver found guilty of Driving Under Influence while driving any motor vehicle shall be forbidden from operating a commercial vehicle for a minimum of 1 year.