What is the Law on Compounding a Felony in Kansas and What are the Punishments for it?
In cities like Kansas, most felonies are punishable by state prison and may attract a sentence of one year or more. Felonies committed in most states in the US are classified into different groups or categories. The sentences are assigned depending upon these groups or classes of felonies. While most states in the US may penalize the offenders one-by-one, corresponding to each crime they have committed, other places like Kansas use complicated grid or network systems for different types of felonies.
The laws in Kansas have classified as misdemeanors or the less serious crimes into different groups, where the most serious of misdemeanors can attract up to one year of imprisonment in a country jail.
Classes of Kansas City Misdemeanor Crimes and their Punishments
Most misdemeanors that occur in Kansas City can attract up to one year of imprisonment or more in a country jail. Whereas felonies can attract more stringent sentences and imprisonment in state prison. As mentioned earlier, most misdemeanors in Kansas are classified into different groups. These groups are named as Class A, B, and C misdemeanors.
- Class A Misdemeanor
A Class A misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor in Kansas City which can attract sentences of up to one year in a country jail. Also, the offender may attract fines of up to $2,500. For example, possession of illegal substances like Marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor and is considered a serious offense in Kansas City.
- Class B Misdemeanor
Compared to Class A misdemeanors, Class B misdemeanors are less serious offenses which may attract sentences of up to six months in jail and fines of up to $1,000. For instance, hitting someone with a baseball bat is classified as a Class B misdemeanor in Kansas City.
- Class C Misdemeanor
Compared to both Class A and Class B misdemeanors, Class C misdemeanors are the least serious of offenses. This class of misdemeanors can attract sentences of up to one month in jail and a fine of up to $500. For instance, prostitution is a Class C misdemeanor in Kansas City.
- Unclassified Misdemeanors
Unclassified misdemeanors are those misdemeanors which haven't been classified. That is, these types of misdemeanors don't belong to any of the three classes of misdemeanors, A, B, or C. Also, if there is no specific penalty stated in the criminal statute for these offenses, they are simply categorized as Class C misdemeanors. This means these offenses also attract the same punishments.
Statute of Limitations
According to the Statute of Limitations, no state in the United States can press criminal charges with any class of misdemeanors or felonies after a specified period. In Kansas City, this limit currently stands at five years. This means no criminal charges can be pressed for the felony or misdemeanor after five years.
In a city like Kansas, most judges decide on a sentence for the offender. This sentence is dependent on a set of guidelines which:
- Categorize crimes depending upon their level of severity.
- Categorize criminals depending on their history of crimes, offenses, felonies or misdemeanors committed.
Having criminal records can make life difficult for anyone, even if they are a Class C misdemeanor conviction or the least serious of crimes. However, in case you are charged with a crime in Kansas City, then you must immediately contact a defense attorney. An experienced defense attorney can guide you through the court procedures and let you know how the court will treat your case, as well as how you should be preparing for it.
The attorney can tell you what class of felony or misdemeanor has occurred and will also guide you with the court proceedings for the same. So, don't forget to contact a good, experienced defense attorney in case you find yourself on the wrong side of the law in Kansas City.