The Full Guide for Getting a Florida Marriage License
If you are getting married in Florida, you should not panic about procuring a marriage license as the process is quite uncomplicated. However, ensure that your marriage license is available in advance so that you do not have to worry at the last moment. Read on to know the steps for getting a marriage license in the state of Florida:
1. Preparatory formalities
Contact local county courthouse
It is the first step, and you should locate the contact number for the local courthouse of your county. After that, call up and find about the specific requirements in your county to get a marriage license.
Get the necessary documents ready
You have to collect some specific documents for the application of your marriage license. So, have them ready and carry them when you fill up the application form.
- Valid photo ID: Both the parties should carry a valid photo ID to prove their age and identity. One should be a minimum of 18-year-old for getting married in the state of Florida without the consent of their parents. The picture identification can be an ID card issued by the state, military ID, passport, or a driver’s license.
- Divorce decree or death certificate: In case either of the party has been married before, they should produce the divorce decree or the official death certificate of their deceased husband/wife to establish their current marital status.
- Birth certificate and Social Security card: Based on the county of residence, the partners should produce either their Social Security card or birth certificate.
License fee has to be paid
The kind of payment methods varies from county to county. However, in a majority of cases, a check, credit card, or cash is accepted as a license fee.
Visit the courthouse of the county
In case there is a requirement in the local courthouse to make an appointment, ensure that there is one in advance to avoid inconvenience. Both the parties should be applying for their marriage license at the county courthouse. They should read the handbook on the marriage law thoroughly.
A marriage license should be used to marry within the stipulated period
Typically, the marriage license is issued on the same day of application. One may not be able to wed thin three dates from the date of issue. The marriage license procured should be used by the parties within sixty days. In case, the marriage is not solemnized within this period, they may have to reapply. Plus, residents of Florida have to abide by a stipulated waiting period before reapplying.
It is imperative to note that the process of legal marriage and the wedding may not be essentially the same. One can have their wedding ceremony at any place, but their legal marriage process should be conducted in their resident state.
3. Marriage license to be signed, as well as, submitted to county court
The officiant would put his/her signature on the marriage license post the marriage. Typically the signature on the license and its submission to the court should be done within a week of the marriage.
A few couples opt to complete their legal marriage process before the actual wedding. It enables them to have extra time before the wedding to alter their names, as well as, obtain new licenses, documents, etc. The married couple receives a copy of their certified marriage license within 4 to 6 weeks in the mail. Additional copies can be ordered by the couple by paying a fee at their local courthouse. The certified copy of a marriage license is required to alter the name, get a fresh Social Security Number, change account records, and more.
Search for Public Marriage Records in Florida with GoLookUp!