How to Get a Georgia Marriage License
Irrespective of whether a person is a resident of Georgia or planning to have a destination or long-distance wedding in the state, it is important to get a marriage license time. It will enable the persons concerned to enjoy a beautiful and hassle-free wedding in Georgia.
Procedures to get a Georgia marriage license:
1. Ascertain eligibility to get married in Georgia
Before getting a marriage license, as well as, getting married in the state of Georgia, it is important to find out whether the person has the eligibility to marry under the laws of the state and that can slightly vary from one county to another. It will make sure that the party does not face any delays or issues in getting their license.
- Neither of the two parties should be married to some other person at the time of applying for their marriage license. In case either or both the parties are divorced or widowed, they should furnish evidence of the death or divorce from their former spouse.
- Both the parties should be at least 18-year-old for getting married in the state without parental consent.
- There are some counties that permit people who are even 16-year-old to wed with parental consent.
- The state of Georgia does not allow marriages between close relatives related by blood. However, it allows cousins to marry one another.
- People who are disabled developmentally can get married provided they understand the concept of marriage.
2. Collect payment and proper documentation to apply for a proper marriage license
The parties need to carry proper ID proofs and documentation when they reach the office of the local county or the court to apply for their marriage license. It will help in avoiding delays to get a marriage license.
3. Pay proper license fees
Apart from providing identification and documentation, the parties will also have to pay the right kind of fees as payment towards their marriage license. However, it is imperative to know that the fees for a marriage license vary by county in Georgia.
4. Find out the right county probate court
Marriage licenses are issued by county probate courts to couples in the state of Georgia. The concerned parties should contact before their date of the wedding to get their queries resolved. Go to website http://www.usmarriagelaws.com/search/united_states/georgia/#counties to get the list all the probate courts in the state.
5. Get the marriage license from Georgia’s local county probate court
The persons concerned should buy their marriage license at their County Probate Court before getting married in the state. The parties should ensure that they are prepared with the necessary fees and documentation before arriving at the county court so that delays can be avoided. It is to be noted that both the parties who are applying for their marriage license should visit the County Probate Court. They should sign the application form at the court. Unlike many other federal states, there is no waiting period in Georgia for marriage licenses. After a marriage license has been issued in Georgia, it never expires.
6. The surname can be changed if desired
In case either or both the partners would wish to alter their surname after the marriage, it should be explicitly mentioned in their marriage license application in Georgia. It is necessary to mention the same on their application for the marriage license to ensure that they have changed the surname legally. Mentioning will also help to avoid a more lengthy procedure of altering the surname after the marriage has taken place. After the surname is changed on one’s marriage license, the person(s) need not fill out any other forms.