How to Get an Illinois Marriage License
The state of Illinois located in the Midwestern region of the United States of America is also known as the “Prairie State” of the U.S. It is known for its wetlands, rolling hills, sprawling farmlands, and dense forests – making it the perfect location to get hitched! The capital of the state of Illinois in Springfield.
Procuring a marriage license in the state of Illinois is not too complicated and requires you to adhere to certain basic conditions such as ID proof, age, etc. Let’s take a look at how you can get a marriage license in the State of Illinois –
- The marriage license requirements in the state of Illinois are regulated by Part II of the Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act, Illinois
- The marriage license fee in the state of Illinois is between 15 and 75 U.S. dollars.
- The legal marriageable age in the state of Illinois is 18 without consent.
- The legal marriageable age in the state of Illinois is 16 with consent.
- There is no blood test required to obtain a marriage license in the state of Illinois.
- There is a 24 hour waiting period to obtain a marriage license in the state of Illinois.
Marriage law requirements for Illinois marriage licenses –
- The legal age to be eligible for marriage in the state of Illinois is 18 years.
- Both the applicants must appear in person at the County Clerk’s Office, Illinois to obtain a Marriage License.
- Both the applicants must present valid and proper age proof either in the form of a birth certificate or their state I.D. or a valid driver’s license.
- If either applicant was previously married, the date on which the marriage ended - (the month, day, and year), the Country and State where the divorce or death of spouse was recorded in and the reason for the marriage ending (whether death, divorce, etc.) should be clearly mentioned in the application form.
- The marriage license fee in the state of Illinois varies by county and has to be paid at the time of application.
- Couples getting married in Illinois must obtain a valid marriage license from the County Clerk’s office.
- Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days beginning one day after the date issued.
Procedure for obtaining a marriage license in the state of Illinois
To fulfill all the requirements for the application for a marriage license in the state of Illinois, the couple must –
- Both the applicants must be present in person to obtain a marriage license, and both should be at least 18 years of age (without consent) or 16 years of age (with consent).
- Both the applicants must fill out and sign a marriage license application in the format prescribed by the Illinois state marriage laws.
- Both the applicants must present valid age proof with I.D. such as driver’s license, state I.D., etc.
- The fee of the requisite amount should be paid only in cash.
- Applicants who have undergone a divorce within the last six weeks of application for a marriage license must provide a certified copy of their divorce decree first before applying for a marriage license or along with the marriage license application.
- Applicants who were widowed within the last six weeks must provide a certified copy of the death certificate of their spouse.
- The marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days only in the county in which it was issued.
It is important to note that all information should be verified with the local County Clerk’s office before making a trip to purchase the marriage license. The state of Illinois has a 24 hour waiting period to get married. Valid and accepted I.D proofs for the marriage license in the state of Illinois include –
- State driver’s license
- State issued the identification card
- U.S. passport or foreign passport
- U.S. Armed Forces identification card, or
- Permanent Resident Card