How to Get an Indiana Marriage License
The famous state of Indiana is located in the Midwestern region of the United States and is known famously for the auto races.
Indiana Title 31 Family and Juvenile Law deal with procuring a marriage license in the state of Indiana. The following are the requirements/conditions to obtain a marriage license in the state of Indiana –
- For a couple to be legally married in the State of Indiana, they must possess a valid marriage license.
- If you want to apply for a marriage license in the state of Indiana, both you and your future spouse to be must appear in person at the Indiana Clerk’s Office in an Indiana county where one of you resides. For non-residents, the couple must visit the Clerk’s Office in the Indiana county where the marriage will be solemnized/take place.
- Both applicants must be aged 18 years or older.
- Both applicants must come to apply for the marriage license at the same time.
- Both applicants should be present at the time of application with one of the following ID proofs - a valid driver’s license or a state identification card, for proof of residency, identity, and date of birth.
- The marriage license fee is 18 dollars if one or both parties are residents of Indiana and 60 dollars for out-of-state residents. Some offices may also charge an additional document fee of 2 dollars (most counties will require these fees to be paid in cash only).
- The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
Other conditions that have to be fulfilled to obtain a marriage license in the state of Indiana –
- You and your future spouse will also be required to provide your respective Social Security Numbers, although your Social Security Cards may not be required.
- You will need to provide the following information for both your parents: Full Names, last known residential address, birthplace (state or foreign country).
Once the marriage license is obtained, Indiana residents can get married anywhere in the state of Indiana. The marriage details will be recorded in whatever county you applied for the marriage license in.
What are the marriage ID requirements in the state of Indiana?
While visiting the County Clerk’s office, be sure to bring one of the following forms of identification to prove your identity and date of birth:
- Current, valid driver’s license or state-issued ID card
- Birth Certificate
Indiana state law (IC 31-11-4-6) reads “any written evidence of the individual’s date of birth that is satisfactory to the clerk.” Also, if this documentation is in any language other than English, it may be necessary to have it translated and notarized before submitting it to the clerk at the Indiana county office.
If either any one of you were previously married, you would need to provide the month, and year each ended, as well as how each ended (some counties may require copies of divorce decrees for marriages that ended less than two years ago).
Other points related to marriages in the state of Indiana –
- Proxy marriages are not allowed in the state of Indiana.
- Indiana does recognize common law marriages legalized by another state.
- Marriage between first cousins is permitted if both individuals are at least sixty-five (65) years of age.
- No blood tests are required to be done in the state of Indiana to get married.
Minors marrying in Indiana –
Any minor wanting to get married in Indiana must bring a certified copy of a birth certificate.
If you are 17 years old, you must apply for the license with both parents’ present or legal guardians — they need to sign the consent part of the application.
If an applicant is either 16 or 15 years of age, a different process must be followed. This person must file a petition with the Circuit Court via a “Permission to Marry” form. This is done as a way of getting the court’s permission to marry. The cost for filing this court document is 124 dollars (non-refundable), even if the judge decides against allowing the minor to get married.