How to Get a Marriage License in the State of Michigan
If you’re on track to getting married, congratulations. Marriage is a beautiful and exciting journey in a couple’s life. However, before you can begin that journey, you will need a marriage license.
The process of getting a marriage license in Michigan is simple. All you need to do is go to the County Clerk of the county in which you reside and fill out the necessary forms while providing relevant documentation. Conditions, as well as requirements, are elaborated on below.
Requirements for a Michigan Marriage License
- You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a marriage license in Michigan.
- If you’d like to get married in Michigan, both you and your spouse need to apply in person with a current state ID or driver’s license on hand.
- You will need to apply at the county clerk office from the county in which either of your lives.
- The fee for residents of Michigan is $20 while it is $30 for non-residents. It’s best to use cash as each county office is different and they may not take a credit card, debit card or check.
- Blood tests aren’t required in order to get married in Michigan.
- You will need at least two witnesses present who are at least 18 years of age if you would like to get married in Michigan.
- Marriage licenses are valid for 33 days in Michigan.
Previous Marriages in Michigan
The State of Michigan requires that you know the date as well as how the last marriage ended. People who have been divorced within the last six months need to supply proof of the divorce which the Clerk will keep.
You will need to present a picture ID such as a driver’s license. Military ID, as well as DD 214, is accepted too. Both partners need to present certified copies of their birth certificates.
Both partners need to know their mother's maiden name as well as both parents addresses. If you have a foreign birth certificate, you will need to get it translated as well as have it notarized.
Waiting Period for a Michigan Marriage License
Michigan is one of the few states remaining which has a three day waiting period. The day you apply isn’t included in the application day. The only way a waiting period can be waived is it the county clerk does so for good and sufficient cause shown.
Michigan does not recognize proxy marriages. However, one person who has all of the necessary documents can apply for a marriage license. A photocopy of your partner's driver’s license front and back will be needed.
Cousin Marriages and Common Law Marriages in Michigan
Cousin Marriages, as well as Common Law Marriages, aren’t recognized in Michigan. However, relationships entered prior to January 1, 1957, are recognized.
Same-sex Marriages in Michigan
The United States Supreme Court’s ruling of Obergefell v. Hodges on June 26, 2015, has ruled that same-sex marriage is legal which makes it legal in Michigan as well as other U.S. states.
Under 18 Marriages in Michigan
Individuals who are 16 or 17 years of age are allowed to get married as long as they receive parental consent. Parents must appear and present their own identification. Individuals who are 15 years or younger will need the consent of their parents as well as the approval of the probate court.
Name Change in Michigan
Many people incorrectly assume that a marriage license changes their name automatically. If you would like to change your last name, you can do so by using an online name changing kit.
This article isn't meant to be used for legal information. It is meant to be used as a general guide.
Search for Public Marriage Records in Michigan with GoLookUp!